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SFQ: Why can’t Level 1 Pilots fly star-
ships within a system? According to the
Pilot Certification Table (KH page 24), a
Level f Pilot can fly system ships of all
sizes. Is there a difference between flying
a system ship and flying a starship within
a system?

SFA: Yes. Starships are radically different in
design, propuision, and equipment from
system ships. They do not suddenly shed all
their complex machinery when they enter a
star system. Whether the starship is going
on an intergalactic voyage or just a spin
around the solar system, it still takes an
experienced pilot to get it out of the docking
bay.

SFQ: Does an Engineer’s Toolbox (KH
page 30) come with a Techkit?

SFA: Yes, the basic Techkit is included in
addition to the other specialized equipment.
SFQ: With a sick bay, a medic gains
+20% on all Success Rates (AD, page
90). How much does a spaceship sick bay
cost?

SFA: For basic medical facilities capable of
treating most wounds, infections, common
diseases and poisons, the sick bay will re-
quire 6 square meters of space and 8,000
Credits per patient to be accomodated. This
includes bed, monitoring devices, and 10
times the amount of each drug found in a
standard medkit, plus computer facilities
able to accomodate a level 3 medical treat-
ment job maxiprog. A basic sick bay allows
the medic to gain the bonus for treating
wounds and infections, but not for other
specialized medical skills.

More elaborate facilities may include a
separate laboratory for analyzing new dis-
ease organisms and developing new drugs
and anti-toxins. A laboratory costs 100,000
Credits and includes equipment and maxi-
progs for analysis, diagnosis, and testing. A
sick bay with a laboratery allows the medic
to gain the bonus for diagnosis and for
treatment of disease, poison, and radiation,

Larger starships and space stations are
normally equipped with a surgical unit as
well. Surgical facilities cost an additional
100,000 credits and include surgical equip-
ment, plus specialized level 6 life support
and medical treatment maxiprogs. The
surgical unit will allow the medic to gain the
stated bonus for surgery and forensic medi-
cine.

SFQ: How is the pay/day determined for
a character with two skills that pay an
equal amount? For example, according to
the pay/day table (AD, page 60) a Level 3
Roboticist/Level 2 Medic could be paid
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100 Cr (80 +20) or 110 Cr (30 + 80),
depending upon which skill was consid-
ered full rate.

SFA: If the character is hired for a job
where one of the skills is critical, that skill
should be paid at full rate, Otherwise, the
higher level skill is paid at full rate, and the
lower level one at an additional + 1{/level/
day, as given. Therefore, your example
character would receive (80 +20) = 100
Credits/day.
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ADQ: When a thief successfully sneaks up
to a victim and backstabs, should there
not also be a surprise roll? As the thief
truly did surprise the opponent, and
other character classes in this sitnation
would have the chance to attack in cach
surprise segment gained, why not the
thief? Or is maximum surprise assumed
— modified by dexterity?

ADA: The degree of surprise is not as-
sumed. At the first confrontation, the thief
gains the backstab bonuses ( +4 “to hut"”
and multiplied damage) only if a standard
roll indicates surprise. If the victim is not
surprised, only the +2 bonus “to hit” from
behind applies to the backstab attempt, and
multiple damage s disallowed, since it is
contingent on surprise. Assuming surprise,
multiple attacks may be possible (as per
normal surprise rules); if so, the +4 “to
hit” bonus applies for all such attacks, but
only the first gains the multiplier, as the
victim who has been hit once does not re-
main surprised per se. Another backstab
attempt against the same victim may be
made by a different thief, or by the same
thief if he or she disengages, departs, and
successfully gains surprise upon returning.
Surprise is not possible if the victim is
aware of the thief’s presence and position.
ADQ: If a half-orc with a dexterity of 12-
14 is limited to 8th-level as a thief, why
can that same character advance up to
15th-level in the assassin class and
thereby gain the same abilities as a 13th-
level thief? It seems that no evil half-orc
should bother being a thief, since he can
get more complete thief training as an
assassin, plus the assassin abilities as
well,

ADA: That assessment is correct; a smart
evil half-orc will nearly always choase the
assassin path over straight thievery. The
orcish race ts vicious by nature, and that

tendency is reflected in the career paths
available to half-orcs.

But life’s a lot tougher for an assassin
than for a thief. The latter class is respected
and tolerated (or even encouraged) by
adventurers, and possibly even rulers; the
former, however, s usuaily despised by all.
ADQ: Why do magic-users seem to be
more attuned to the elements (at 2 me-
dium level) than druids? Magic-users as
low as 9th-level can conjure any of the
four “most common” elementals, assum-
ing that they have the spell, whereas
druids must wait until they reach 11th-
level to conjure fire elementals, and 12th-
level to conjure earth elementals. Even
though the druid may control the sum-
moned elemental with basically no
chance of failure, it seems that the druid
should have more power over elemental-
summoning than the magic-user. The
magic-user is, in my opinion, one of the
strongest of the player character classes,
and mages do not need any druidical
powers.

ADA: Druids are attuned to nature, which
is the perfect blending of all four elements.
It is against their basic nature to bring one
element into dominance over the others;
that creates imbalance. Magic-users, on the
other hand, may be adept at conjuring.
Those who are make careful studies of other
planes, including elemental planes, whereas
druids study only the Prime Material Plane.

Note also that druids gain the coopera-
tion of elementals, but magic-users must
coerce the poor creatures, and thus run the
ever-present risk of losing control and being
attacked by their conjurations.

ADQ: The description of the Sth-level
magic-user spell prismatic sphere in the
Players Handbook specifies that the
seventh sphere confers force field protec-
tion. Is this protection akin to a wall of
force? If so, the seventh sphere is equal to
all six former spheres put together, and
the magic-user could not cast spells out of
it, This makes the prismatic sphere spell
an expensive delay only for the magic-
user, and leaves the mage’s comrades out
in the cold.

ADA: No, the force field is NOT a wall of
force. Tt is exactly as the spell description
states — a barrier which sends anyone
trying to penetrate it to another plane un-
less a save vs. spells is made. If the save is
successful, the attacker may pass through it
ta the mage. Note, however, that said at-
tacker is once again subject to all the effects
on his way out, and must make a new save
vs. that effect and each of the others for
which one is required to escape.

There is nothing in the spell description
to indicate that the creator of the sphere
cannot cast spells out of it. Indeed, the
caster may pass through the sphere with no
ill effects, and his or her spells can as well.
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