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WARHAMMER 40,000 

CODEX: CHAOS SPACE MARINES
Official Update Version 2.0

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

Please note that the errata and page references at 
the beginning of this document refer to the second 
edition of Codex: Chaos Space Marines. We have included 
updated errata for the first edition of this codex as an 
appendix at the end of this document. The FAQ section 
is applicable to both editions of the codex.

ERRATA
Page 122 – Khârn the Betrayer
Change The Betrayer ability to read:
‘You cannot re-roll or modify hit rolls of 1 made for 
Khârn the Betrayer in the Fight phase. Instead, those 
attacks automatically hit another friendly unit within 1" 
of Khârn. Randomly determine which unit is hit if there 
is more than one. If there are no other friendly units 
within 1" of Khârn, the hits are discarded.’

Page 143 – Noise Marines, Music of the Apocalypse
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Do not remove the slain model yet – after the attacking 
unit has finished making all its attacks, the slain model 
can shoot with one of its ranged weapons as if it were 
your Shooting phase.’

Page 147 – Obliterators, Fleshmetal Guns
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time this unit is chosen to attack with fleshmetal 
guns, roll three D3, one after the other, to determine 
the characteristics of the unit’s fleshmetal guns when 
resolving those attacks.’

Page 163 – Legion Traits
Change the first sentence to read: 
‘If your army is Battle-forged, all Character, 
Infantry, Biker and Helbrute units in Chaos Space 
Marine Detachments gain a Legion Trait, so long as 
every unit in that Detachment is from the same Legion.’

Page 164 – Chaos Boon, Spawndom
Change the third sentence to the following:
‘If you do so, set up the Chaos Spawn within 6" of the 
character and more than 1" from any enemy models 
before removing them as a casualty.’

Page 166 – Forward Operatives 
Change this Stratagem to read: 
‘Use this Stratagem during deployment, when you set 
up an Alpha Legion Infantry unit from your army. At 
the start of the first battle round but before the first turn 
begins, you can move that unit up to 9". It cannot end 
this move within 9" of any enemy models. If both players 
have units that can move before the first turn begins, 
the player who is taking the first turn moves their units 
first. Each unit can only be selected for this Stratagem 
once per battle.’

Page 168 – Dark Hereticus Discipline, Gift of Chaos
Change the third sentence to read:
‘If a Character is slain by this power, you can add a 
Chaos Spawn to your army within 6" of the character 
and more than 1" from any enemy models before they 
are removed as a casualty.’

Page 170 – The Black Mace
Change the first and second sentence to read: 
‘Model with power maul or accursed crozius only. 
The Black Mace replaces the bearer’s power maul or 
accursed crozius and has the following profile:’

Page 171 – The Cursed Crozius
Change the first and second sentence to read: 
‘Word Bearers model with power maul or accursed 
crozius only. The Cursed Crozius replaces the 
bearer’s power maul or accursed crozius and has the 
following profile:’

Page 173 – The Voice of Lorgar
Change the rule to read: 
‘Increases the range of your Warlord’s aura abilities (e.g. 
Lord of Chaos, Demagogue) by 3". Increase the range of 
any Prayers to the Dark Gods chanted by your Warlord 
by 3".’

Page 174 – Points Values, Obliterators
Change the Obliterators’ Models per Unit value to read 
‘1-3’ and Points per Model value to read ‘115’.
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FAQs
Q: Does the additional attack granted from the Butcher’s Nails 
Legion Trait still apply if the unit is fighting for a second time, or 
is the additional attack only applied the first time the unit fights 
in that Fight phase? 
A: Each model in the unit can specifically make one 
additional attack in the subsequent Fight phase, therefore 
it only applies the first time that unit fights in that 
Fight phase.

Q: If I use the Fire Frenzy Stratagem, the nearest visible enemy 
unit is a Character with a Wounds characteristic of less than 
10, but there is another enemy unit closer that is not visible and 
not a Character with a Wounds characteristic of less than 10, 
can I target that Character?
A: No. In such instances, you must target the nearest 
visible enemy unit that is not a Character with a 
Wounds characteristic of less than 10.

Q: If I choose not to select a Mark of Chaos for Greater Possessed, 
which units (if any) can benefit from its Locus of Power ability?
A: Only <Legion> Daemon units that you have also 
chosen not to select a Mark of Chaos for.

Q: Can a model use the Incursion psychic power to summon a 
unit even if it has moved during this turn? What about if it has 
already used the Daemonic Ritual ability this turn? 
A: Yes in either case.

Q: When using the Chaos Familiar Stratagem to replace a psychic 
power, can I select a <Mark of Chaos> psychic power from the 
Dark Hereticus discipline that the Psyker would be eligible for?
A: Yes.

Q: If I use the Daemon Shell or Flakk Missile Stratagem and I 
hit, do I continue to roll to wound and do damage normally in 
addition to doing mortal wounds?
A: No, the normal attack sequence ends.

Q: How should Perils of the Warp be resolved against Rubric 
Marine units led by an Aspiring Sorcerer?
A: Any mortal wounds suffered are applied to the 
Sorcerer’s unit, so can be applied to another model if 
you wish (if a model in that unit has already suffered any 
wounds, any mortal wounds must still be applied to this 
model first). 

Q: If the Aspiring Sorcerer or Scarab Occult Sorcerer from a unit 
has been slain, is this unit still treated as being a Psyker?
A: Yes. 

Designers Note: Whilst these units would not be able to 
manifest or deny any psychic powers, any abilities, objectives or 
effects which affect psykers are still likely to affect these warp-
infused animated suits of armour.

Q: Can the Killshot Stratagem be used to affect 
Hellforged Predators?
A: No. The Killshot Stratagem can only be used to affect 
models using the Chaos Predator datasheet.

Q: If I have a Daemon model that can only be included once 
in my army – for example, the Changeling – and that model is 
slain during the game, can I use Daemonic Ritual to attempt to 
summon it and add it to my army again?
A: Yes. Note that if you’re playing a matched play game 
you’ll need the appropriate reinforcement points to do so.

Q: Does disembarking effectively prevent a Chaos Character 
from summoning a Daemon unit that turn using the Daemonic 
Ritual ability?
A: Yes. Models that disembark count as having moved for 
all rules purposes, including Daemonic Ritual.

Q: If I am playing a mission such as The Relic, which has an 
objective marker that a unit can carry, and Cypher is carrying 
that objective marker when he is slain, what happens?
A: The objective marker is dropped.

Q: Can a Noise Marine use his Music of the Apocalypse ability if 
he flees the battlefield?
A: No. This ability can only be used when the model 
is slain.

Q: If several Noise Marines are slain in the same attack, can they 
each use their Music of the Apocalypse ability to throw a grenade, 
or can only one of them do so?
A: Each of them can throw a grenade.

Q: Maulerfiends have a wargear option to ‘replace both magma 
cutters with lasher tendrils’. Does this mean I replace both magma 
cutters for a single ‘lasher tendrils’ weapon, or do I get two ‘lasher 
tendrils’ weapons?
A: You replace both magma cutters with a single ‘lasher 
tendrils’ weapon.

Q: If I take a unit of Daemons in a Chaos Space Marines 
Detachment, do I lose my Legion Trait? 
A: Yes. However, if you summon a unit of Daemons and 
add them to your army, doing so does not affect your 
Legion Trait.

Q: If I give a unit in my army an Icon of Vengeance, then at the 
start of my first turn use the Beseech the Chaos Gods Stratagem 
to make that unit dedicated to Khorne, Tzeentch, Nurgle or 
Slaanesh, does the unit swap its Icon of Vengeance for the Chaos 
Icon of their god, or does it keep the Icon of Vengeance?
A: It keeps the Icon of Vengeance.

Q: If I roll a 12 on the Chaos Boon table, when adding a 
Daemon Prince to my army, which Daemon Prince datasheet 
should I use – the Daemon Prince or the Daemon Prince of 
Chaos? In addition, what wargear options can it take?
A: Use the Daemon Prince datasheet from Codex: Chaos 
Space Marines. The model can be equipped with any of 
its normal wargear options, providing you have the right 
model and it is built appropriately. 
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Q: Are the bonus attacks from Death to the False Emperor and the 
Excess of Violence Stratagem cumulative? For example, if a model 
with an Attacks characteristic of 1 rolled a hit roll of 6+ when 
attacking an Imperium unit (thereby giving it an extra attack) 
and then both of those attacks killed enemy models, would I then 
make two extra attacks for that model? If yes, what happens if I 
roll hit rolls of 6+ for these attacks?
A: Yes, they are cumulative. In the example given, you 
would make two extra attacks but any further hit rolls of 
6+ (and any subsequent models slain) would not generate 
any further attacks.

Q: If an enemy Character is slain by the Gift of Chaos or 
Possession psychic power, do I need to have the appropriate 
reinforcement points set aside in order to set up the Chaos Spawn 
or Greater Possessed?
A: Yes, if you are playing a matched play game.

Q: If I manifest the Gift of Chaos psychic power, and target a unit 
whose models have different Toughness characteristics, which one 
should I use?
A: Use the highest Toughness characteristic in the 
target unit.

Q: Do modifications to Haarken Worldclaimer’s Attacks 
characteristic due to his Head-claimer ability last until the end of 
the battle?
A: Yes.
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APPENDIX
The following errata apply only to the first edition of 
Codex: Chaos Space Marines.

Page 116 – <Mark of Chaos>
Add the following to the last paragraph:
‘If a unit has the Tzeentch, Nurgle or Slaanesh 
keywords, it cannot be from the World Eaters Legion, 
and if a unit has the Khorne, Tzeentch or Nurgle 
keywords, it cannot be from the Emperor’s Children 
Legion. In addition, Psykers cannot be from the World 
Eaters Legion.’

Page 117 – Champion Equipment 
Change the second heading to read:
‘One of the champion’s weapons can be chosen from the 
following list:’

Page 117 – Daemonic Ritual
Change the third sentence of the fourth paragraph 
to read:
‘This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and 
can be placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly 
within 12" of the character and more than 9" from any 
enemy model.’

Page 120 – Khârn the Betrayer
Change The Betrayer ability to read:
‘You cannot re-roll or modify hit rolls of 1 made for 
Khârn the Betrayer in the Fight phase.

Instead, those attacks automatically hit another friendly 
unit within 1" of Khârn. Randomly determine which 
unit is hit if there is more than one. If there are no other 
friendly units within 1" of Khârn, the hits are discarded.’

Page 121 – Cypher, Abilities
Add the following ability:
‘No-one’s Puppet: Cypher cannot use the Daemonic 
Ritual ability, even though he has the Chaos and 
Character keywords.’

Page 129 – Bloodletters
Add ‘Daemon’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘Daemon’ from the keywords line.

Page 131 – Plaguebearers
Add ‘Daemon’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘Daemon’ from the keywords line.

Page 131 – Daemonettes
Add ‘Daemon’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘Daemon’ from the keywords line.

Page 132 – Khorne Berzerkers, Abilities
Add the following ability:
‘Berzerker Horde: The Battlefield Role of World Eaters 
Khorne Berzerkers is Troops instead of Elites.’

Page 135 – Noise Marines, Music of the Apocalypse
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Do not remove the slain model yet – after the attacking 
unit has finished making all its attacks, the slain model 
can shoot with one of its ranged weapons as if it were your 
Shooting phase.’

Page 135 – Noise Marines, Abilities
Add the following ability:
‘Masters of the Kakophoni: The Battlefield Role of 
Emperor’s Children Noise Marines is Troops instead 
of Elites.’

Page 136 – Chosen, Wargear Options
Change this unit’s wargear options to read:
‘•  Any Chosen may take one item from the Melee 

Weapons list.
 •  Up to four Chosen may choose one of the 

following options:
    •  Replace his bolt pistol with a plasma pistol.
    •  Replace his boltgun with one item from the Combi-

weapons or Special Weapons lists.
    •  Replace his boltgun and bolt pistol with a 

lightning claw.
 •  An additional Chosen may replace his boltgun with one 

item from the Special Weapons or Heavy Weapons lists.
 •  The Chosen Champion may either take one item from 

the Melee Weapons list, or replace his boltgun and bolt 
pistol with items from the Champion Equipment list.

 •  One model may take a Chaos Icon (pg 153).’

Page 138 – Helbrute, Wargear Options
Change the third bullet point to read:
‘•  This model may replace each Helbrute fist with a 

Helbrute hammer or power scourge.’

Page 142 – Obliterators
Remove ‘Daemon’ from the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘Daemon’ to the keywords line.

Page 142 – Obliterators, Fleshmetal Guns
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time this unit is chosen to attack with fleshmetal 
guns, roll three D3, one after the other, to determine 
the characteristics of the unit’s fleshmetal guns when 
resolving those attacks.’

Page 146 – Chaos Predator, Damage table
Change the top value under ‘Remaining W’ to 
read ‘6-11+’.
Change the second value under ‘Remaining W’ to 
read ‘3-5’.

Page 149 – Khorne Lord of Skulls
Remove ‘Daemon’ from the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘Daemon’ to the keywords line.
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Page 157 – Abilities, Legion Traits
Change the first sentence of rules text to read:
‘If your army is Battle-forged, all Character, Infantry, 
Biker and Helbrute units in Chaos Space Marine 
Detachments gain a Legion Trait, so long as every unit in 
that Detachment is from the same Legion.’

Page 158 – Gifts of Chaos
Add the following sentence:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 158 – Chaos Boon
Change the first sentence of rules text to read:
‘Use this Stratagem at the end of a Fight phase in which 
one of your Heretic Astartes Characters (excluding 
Daemon Characters) slays an enemy Character, 
Vehicle or Monster.’

Page 158 – Chaos Boon, Spawndom
Change the third sentence to the following:
‘If you do so, set up the Chaos Spawn within 6" of the 
character and more than 1" from any enemy models 
before removing them as a casualty.’

Page 159 – Tide of Traitors
Add the following sentence:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 159 – Killshot
Change the second sentence of rules text to read: 
‘Add 1 to the wound rolls and damage for all of the 
Predators’ attacks that target Monsters or Vehicles 
this phase.’

Page 160 – Forward Operatives
Change this Stratagem to read: 
‘Use this Stratagem during deployment, when you set 
up an Alpha Legion Infantry unit from your army. At 
the start of the first battle round but before the first turn 
begins, you can move that unit up to 9". It cannot end 
this move within 9" of any enemy models. If both players 
have units that can move before the first turn begins, the 
player who is taking the first turn moves their units first. 
Each unit can only be selected for this Stratagem once 
per battle.’

Page 161 – Gift of Chaos
Change the second sentence of rules text to read:
‘If manifested, select an enemy unit that is within 6" of 
the psyker and visible to him and roll a D6.’

Page 161 – Dark Hereticus Discipline, Gift of Chaos
Change the third sentence to read:
‘If a Character is slain by this power, you can add a 
Chaos Spawn to your army within 6" of the character and 
more than 1" from any enemy models before they are 
removed as a casualty.’

Page 161 – Mark of Tzeentch: Weaver of Fates
Change the third sentence of rules text to read:
‘Until the start of your next Psychic phase, the 
invulnerable save of that unit is improved by 1 (to a 
maximum of 3+).’

Page 165 – The Voice of Lorgar
Change the rule to read: 
‘Increases the range of your Warlord’s aura abilities (e.g. 
Lord of Chaos, Demagogue) by 3". Increase the range of 
any Prayers to the Dark Gods chanted by your Warlord 
by 3".’


