CODEX SUPPLEMENT: RAVEN GUARD

Indomitus Version 1.1

These documents collect amendments to the rules and present
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often
these amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or
community feedback; these can be identified by the presence
of an asterisk before the page reference. At other times, these
amendments are errata designed to correct mistakes or add
clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might be.

As they’re revised regularly, each of these documents has a
version number; where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a,
this means it has had a local amendment, only in that language,
to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. When

a document is revised, the version number will be incremented
and new updates will be highlighted in blue, while new errata
and FAQs will be highlighted in magenta.

DESIGNER’S NOTES

UPDATES

With the release of the 2020 edition of Codex: Space Marines, it

is necessary to update the Codex supplements that were written

to work alongside its predecessor. These updates ensure that the
rules presented in this supplement work smoothly and ‘as intended’
with the latest Codex. They involve such things as adding the CORE
keyword in the appropriate places and attaching appropriate labels
and categories to psychic powers and Stratagems. They also include
updating certain weapon profiles to match changes in Codex: Space
Marines, and readjusting certain other rules to take into account
their altered efficacy when used in conjunction with the new units
and rules presented in Codex: Space Marines.

UPDATES & ERRATA

*Page 53 — Kayvaan Shrike, Blackout, Abilities

Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time you select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the
Look Out, Sir rule’

*Page 53 — Kayvaan Shrike, Abilities
Add ‘Death From Above (see Codex: Space Marines)’

*Page 53 — Kayvaan Shrike, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘Rites of Battle (Aura): While a friendly RAVEN GUARD CORE unit
is within 6" of this model, each time a model in that unit makes
an attack, re-roll a hit roll of 1.

*Page 53 — Kayvaan Shrike, Abilities, Chapter Master

Change to read:

‘In your Command phase, select one friendly RAVEN GUARD CORE
or RAVEN GUARD CHARACTER unit within 6" of this model. Until
the start of your next Command phase, each time a model in
that unit makes an attack, you can re-roll the hit roll.

*Page 53 — Kayvaan Shrike, Abilities, Diving Charge

Change to read:

‘After this model finishes a charge move, you can select one
enemy unit within Engagement Range of it and roll one D6: on a
4+, that enemy unit suffers 1 mortal wound.’

*Page 53 — Kayvaan Shrike, Abilities, Grav-chute
Delete this ability.

*Page 53 — Kayvaan Shrike, Abilities, Winged Deliverance
Change ability name to read ‘Winged Deliverance (Aura)’.

Page 57 — Warlord Traits, Master of Ambush, rules text

Change to read:

‘At the start of the first battle round, before the first turn begins,
if this Warlord is on the battlefield you can select one other
friendly RAVEN GUARD INFANTRY unit (excluding a CENTURION unit)
on the battlefield. Remove that unit and this Warlord (if it is also
INFANTRY) from the battlefield, and set them up anywhere on the
battlefield that is more than 9" from the enemy deployment zone
and more than 9" from any enemy models (if both players have
abilities that redeploy units before the first turn begins, roll off;
the winner chooses who redeploys their units first).’

*Page 57 — Warlord Traits, Swift and Deadly

Change ability name and rules text to read:

‘Swift and Deadly (Aura): While a friendly RAVEN GUARD CORE
or RAVEN GUARD CHARACTER unit is within 6" of this WARLORD,
that unit is eligible to declare a charge within a turn in which
it Advanced’

*Page 58 — Relics of the Ravenspire, The Ebonclaws, Abilities
Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time the bearer fights, it makes 2 additional attacks with
this weapon.’

*Page 58 — Relics of the Ravenspire, Ex Tenebris, Abilities
Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time you select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the
Look Out, Sir rule’
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*Page 59 - Special-issue Wargear, Silentus Pistol, Abilities
Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time you select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the
Look Out, Sir rule.’

*Page 59 — Special-issue Wargear, Shard of Isstvan, Abilities
Change the second sentence to read:

‘In addition, the bearer has the following ability: ‘Shard of
Isstvan (Aura): While a friendly RAVEN GUARD unit is within 6"
of the bearer, each time a Morale test is taken for that unit, it is
automatically passed.”

*Pages 60-61 — Stratagems
The following categories apply:

BATTLE TACTIC STRATEGIC PLOY REQUISITION

The Raven’s Blade Infiltrators Master of the Trifold Path

Vengeance for Isstvan V  False Flight Token of Brotherhood

Strike From the Shadows
A Deadly Prize

Strike From the Skies

*Page 60 - Stratagems, See, But Remain Unseen, rules text
Change the second sentence to read:

‘Select one RAVEN GUARD unit from your army (excluding
BUILDINGS) that did not make any attacks during that turn.’

*Page 60 — Stratagems, Strike From the Shadows, rules text
Change the first sentence to read:

‘Use this Stratagem during the Declare Reserves and Transports
step of your mission.’

*Page 62 - Umbramancy Discipline, psychic powers
The following categories apply:

BLESSING WITCHFIRE MALEDICTION

1. Umbral Form 5. The Abyss 2. Enveloping Darkness

4. Shadowstep

FAQs

Q: If I use the Stranglehold Stratagem and I also have a Callidus
Assassin in my army, how do I resolve the Stratagem and the
Callidus Assassin’s Reign of Confusion ability (assuming the
Assassin’s Reign of Confusion ability is in effect)?

A: Each is rolled for separately, so if your opponent spends
Command Points to use a Stratagem, you would roll one D6
for the Stranglehold Stratagem (needing a 5+) and one D6 for
the Reign of Confusion ability (needing a 4+). Your opponent
would have to spend one additional Command Point for each
successful roll.

Q: If1 give a PHOBOS CHARACTER the Marksman’s Honours
Warlord Trait, and then give that CHARACTER the Korvidari
Bolts, when shooting a korvidari bolt with a bolt weapon that
model is equipped with, is the weapon considered to be a Relic?
A: No.
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