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CODEX: ORKS
Indomitus Version 1.0

These documents collect amendments to the rules and present 
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often 
these amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or 
community feedback; these can be identified by the presence 
of an asterisk before the page reference. At other times, these 
amendments are errata designed to correct mistakes or add 
clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might be. 

As they’re revised regularly, each of these documents has a 
version number; where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a, 
this means it has had a local amendment, only in that language, 
to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. When 
a document is revised, the version number will be incremented 
and new updates will be highlighted in blue, while new errata 
and FAQs will be highlighted in magenta.

UPDATES & ERRATA
Page 83 – Ork Wargear Lists, Battlewagon Equipment
Add the following sentence:
‘Each item can only be taken once.’

Pages 86 and 120 – Big Mek with Shokk Attack Gun and 
Ranged Weapons list, shokk attack gun
Change the first sentence of this weapon’s ability to read:
‘Each time this unit is chosen to shoot with, roll once to 
determine the Strength characteristic of this weapon.’

*Page 88 – Boss Snikrot, Sneakiest Git
Change to read:
‘Each time a ranged attack is allocated to the bearer while it 
is receiving the benefits of cover, add an additional 2 to any 
armour saving throw made against that attack.’

*Page 92 – Mad Dok Grotsnik, One Scalpel Short of a Medpack 
Change to read:
‘At the start of your Charge phase, if Mad Dok Grotsnik is not 
within 3" of another friendly Ork Infantry unit, not within 
Engagement Range of any enemy units, and is within 12" of an 
enemy unit, he will automatically attempt to charge the nearest 
enemy unit. He can do so even if he Advanced or Fell Back in 
the same turn.’

*Page 97, 98 and 99 – Nobz, Nob with Waaagh! Banner, 
Meganobz and Nobz on Warbikes, Keepin Order
Change to read:
‘While a <Clan> unit is within 3" of any friendly <Clan> units 
with this ability, each time a model would flee that unit as a 
result of a failed Morale or Combat Attrition test, roll one D6: 
on a 6, that model does not flee.’

Page 97 – Nob with Waaagh! Banner
Add the following wargear option:
‘• This model may take a power klaw.’

*Page 99 – Kommandos, Sneaky Gits
Change to read:
‘Each time a ranged attack is allocated to a model in this unit 
while it is receiving the benefits of cover, add an additional 1 to 
any armour saving throw made against that attack.’

Page 101 – Kustom Boosta-blastas, grot blasta
Change the Strength of this weapon to ‘3’.

*Page 101 – Shokkjump Dragsta, Grot Gunner and 
Targetin’ Squig
Change to read:
‘Each time this model makes an attack with its kustom shokk 
rifle, this model has a BS characteristic of 3+ for that attack.’

Page 102 – Megatrakk Scrapjets, Abilities
Add the following ability:
‘Grot Gunner: Add 1 to hit rolls for attacks made with one of 
this model’s twin big shootas.’

*Page 106, 108 and 121 – Deff rolla, Abilities 
Change to read:
‘Each time an attack is made with this weapon, the bearer has a 
WS characteristic of 2+ for that attack.’

*Page 106, 107 and 108 – Battlewagon, Gun Wagon and 
Bonebreaka, Mobile Fortress
Delete this ability.

*Page 106 and 113 – Battlewagon and Trukk, Open-topped
Change the third sentence to read:
‘When they do so, any restrictions or modifiers that apply to this 
model also apply to its passengers.’

Add the following:
‘While this transport is within Engagement Range of any enemy 
units, embarked units cannot shoot, except with any Pistols they 
are equipped with.’

*Page 110 and 111 – Morkanaut and Gorkanaut, Big ‘n’ Stompy
Change to read:
‘This model is eligible to declare a charge in a turn in which it 
Fell Back.’

Page 111 – Lootas, kustom mega-blasta
Change the Damage of this weapon to ‘D6’.
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Pages 111 & 119 – Lootas, deffgun
Change this weapon’s ability to read:
‘Each time this unit is chosen to shoot with, roll one D3 to 
determine the Type characteristic of all deffguns that models in 
this unit are equipped with when resolving those attacks.’

Page 112 – Flash Gitz, Kaptin
Change Leadership characteristic to ‘7’.

*Page 116 – Wazbom Blastajet, 
Mekbrain-enhanced Weapon-sights
Delete the first sentence.

*Page 117 – Stompa, Bigger ’n’ Stompier
Change to read:
‘This model is eligible to declare a charge in a turn in which 
it Fell Back. Each time this model makes a Normal Move, 
Advances or Falls Back, it can be moved across other models 
(excluding Monster and Vehicle models) as if they were not 
there, and when it does it can be moved within Engagement 
Range of such models, but cannot finish its move within 
Engagement Range of any of them.’

*Page 118 – Mekboy Workshop, Ork Structure
Change to read:
‘After this model is set up, it becomes an Obstacle terrain feature 
with the following terrain traits: Defence Line, Light Cover, 
Heavy Cover, Defensible, Unstable Position, Difficult Ground 
(see the Warhammer 40,000 Core Book).’

Page 125 – Clan Kulturs, Blood Axes: Taktiks
Change the second sentence of rules text to read: 
‘In addition, units with this kultur can shoot or charge (but not 
both) even if they Fell Back in the same turn – if such a unit is 
embarked, it can only do so if the Transport that Fell Back also 
has this kultur.’ 

Page 126 – Stratagems, Mob Up
Change the first and second sentences of this Stratagem to read: 
‘Use this Stratagem at the end of your Movement phase, 
before setting up any reinforcement units in your army on the 
battlefield (if any). Select two <Clan> Boyz units from your army 
that are within 2" of each other.’

Page 126 – Stratagems, Warphead
Add the following sentence:
‘Each Weirdboy model can only be selected for this Stratagem 
once per battle.’

Page 126 – Stratagems, Get Stuck In, Ladz!
Change the first sentence of rules text to read:
‘Use this Stratagem at the end of the Fight phase.’

Page 127 – Stratagems, Grot Shields
Change the rules text to read:
‘Use this Stratagem after a <Clan> Infantry unit from your army 
(excluding units comprised entirely of Gretchin models) has 
been hit by a ranged weapon. Until the end of the phase, you 
can roll a D6 each time an attack made with a ranged weapon 
wounds that unit if there is a friendly unit comprised entirely 
of <Clan> Gretchin Infantry models within 6" of it, and the 

Gretchin unit is closer to the attacking model than the target 
unit. On a 2+ one model of your choice in that Gretchin unit is 
slain and the attack sequence ends.’

Page 127 – Stratagems, Loot It!
Change the first and second sentences of rules text to read: 
‘Use this Stratagem when a Vehicle unit is destroyed. Select an 
Ork Infantry unit from your army that was either within 3" of 
the vehicle or embarked within it when it was destroyed. Improve 
the Save characteristic of that infantry unit by 1 (e.g. a Save 
characteristic of 6+ will become a Save characteristic of 5+), to a 
maximum of 2+.’

Page 128 – Stratagems, Drive-by Krumpin’
Change the first sentence of rules text to read:
‘Use this Stratagem at the end of your Shooting phase.’ 

*Page 133 – Deathskulls: Opportunist
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Each time you select a target for a weapon this Warlord is 
making an attack with, you can ignore the Look Out, Sir rule, if 
the target is within 18".’

Page 133 – Warlord Traits, Goffs: Proper Killy
Change the rules text to read: 
‘Add 1 to your Warlord’s Attacks characteristic. In addition, 
improve the Armour Penetration characteristic of melee 
weapons this Warlord is equipped with by 1 during any turn in 
which they made a charge move, were charged, or performed a 
Heroic Intervention (e.g. AP -1 becomes AP -2).’

FAQs
Q: When a Nob replaces their slugga and choppa with items 
from the Nob Weapons list, can they take two weapons from 
the first list and one weapon from the second list, for a total of 
three weapons (e.g. a big choppa, killsaw and a kombi-weapon 
with skorcha)?
A: No. They can take two weapons from the first list or only one 
if it is taken from the second list.

Q: If a Goff Gorkanaut attacks a unit with the Crush profile of 
the Klaw of Gork (or possibly Mork), and the unmodified hit roll 
is a 6 (allowing him to make an extra hit roll with the Klaw due 
to the No Mukkin’ About kultur), does the extra hit roll have to be 
made using the same profile, or can it be made with the weapon’s 
other profile instead?
A: The extra hit roll is made using the same profile.

Q: Do Evil Sunz models that have a set value when they 
Advance – like a Deffkilla Wartrike using the Fuel-mixa Grot 
ability or a Deffkopta, due to Turbo-boost – also benefit from the 
Red Ones Go Fasta kultur?
A: Yes, add 7" to their Move characteristic for that Advance 
move in these cases.

Q: Does the Grots ability mean that units such as Mek Gunz and 
Killa Kans do not benefit from a Clan Kultur?
A: Yes – they do not benefit from a Clan Kultur. Furthermore, 
Ork Stratagems can only be used on these units if they explicitly 
state so (e.g. the Grot Shields Stratagem).
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Designer’s Note: Although many grots follow a particular 
clan into war, due to their puny and feeble nature they do not 
themselves exhibit the traits of any particular clan (for example, 
the teef of grots within a Bad Moons warband do not grow any 
faster). For this reason, grots do not benefit from any Clan Kultur. 
This includes Big Gunz from Index: Xenos 2, and Grot Tanks and 
Grot Mega-tanks from Imperial Armour – Index: Xenos, all of 
which are, for rules purposes, considered to be units comprised 
entirely of Gretchin.

Q: If a Freebooterz unit comprised entirely of Gretchin 
destroys an enemy unit in a phase, do other friendly units within 
24" that have the Competitive Streak kultur add 1 to their hit rolls 
until the end of that phase?
A: Yes, unless the friendly unit in question is also comprised 
entirely of Gretchin.

Q: Do Snakebite Gretchin units from my army benefit from 
the Monster Hunters Stratagem?
A: No.

Q: When using the Mob Up Stratagem, does either unit count 
as being destroyed for the purposes of any victory conditions or 
secondary objectives?
A: No.

Q: When using the Mob Up Stratagem, do any of the rules effects 
that were being applied to the selected units get applied to the 
merged unit? For example, if one unit had Advanced or Fallen 
Back, does the merged unit count as having Advanced or Fallen 
Back, or if one unit is under the effect of a psychic power, is the 
merged unit still under its effects? 
A: Yes, each rule effect that was being applied to each of the 
selected units is applied to the merged unit.

Q: What happens when the Mob Up Stratagem is used to merge a 
<Clan> Infantry unit that has a Clan Kultur with a <Clan> 
Infantry unit without a Clan Kultur?
A: The merged unit would not have a Clan Kultur. The merged 
unit only has a Clan Kultur if the selected units both had it.

Q: When using the Tellyporta Stratagem on a Transport, 
do I include the Power Rating of units embarked inside when 
calculating if the Power Rating is 20 or less?
A: No.

Q: Do Stratagems used on a Transport affect units embarked 
within that transport? For example, if I use More Dakka! on 
a Battlewagon, do any units embarked inside benefit from it? 
In addition, can you use Stratagems on units embarked within 
a transport (e.g. can you use Showin’ Off on a Bad Moons 
Infantry unit embarked within a Battlewagon)?
A: No to both.

Q: If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal 
damage on a Trukk and the damage is subsequently reduced to 
1 as a result of the Ramshackle ability, are the mortal wounds 
inflicted included in this damage reduction?
A: No. Any mortal wounds would be inflicted in addition to the 
damage of 1.

Q: When the Showin’ Off Stratagem is used on a Bad Moons 
Infantry unit, can it select a different target for the second set 
of attacks?
A: Yes. The shooting sequence is followed again, thus allowing 
them to ‘choose targets’ again.


