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CODEX: GENESTEALER CULTS
Indomitus Version 1.2

These documents collect amendments to the rules and present 
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often 
these amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or 
community feedback; these can be identified by the presence 
of an asterisk before the page reference. At other times, these 
amendments are errata designed to correct mistakes or add 
clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might be. 

As they’re revised regularly, each of these documents has a 
version number; where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a, 
this means it has had a local amendment, only in that language, 
to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. When 
a document is revised, the version number will be incremented 
and new updates will be highlighted in blue, while new errata 
and FAQs will be highlighted in magenta.

DESIGNER’S NOTES
WEAPON UPDATES
Several weapon profiles were updated in the 2020 edition of 
Codex: Space Marines. As a result, where those same weapons 
appear in this publication, they are updated to match. We have 
also updated the wording of certain weapons’ abilities that 
would explode or inflict mortal wounds on hit rolls of 1, so that 
they now only do so on unmodified hit rolls of 1. The weapons in 
question, and the updated profiles for them, are found at the end 
of this document, and should be changed wherever they appear in 
this book. 

Having updated several weapon profiles, we have also reviewed 
those Relics that replace one of the updated weapons. As a result, 
we have decided to update a few Relics to ensure that they are not 
worse (e.g. have a lower Strength characteristic) than the weapons 
they replace.

UPDATES & ERRATA
*Page 78 – Abilities, Cult Ambush
Add the following:
‘Matched Play: In matched play, units set up in ambush 
using this rule do not count as being Strategic Reserves or 
Reinforcement units.’

Page 79 – Cult Ambush, Revealing Ambush Markers
Change the last sentence of the first paragraph to read:
‘Note that unless these units actually move during this 
Movement phase, they do not count as having moved in their 
Movement phase for any rules purposes, such as shooting 
Heavy weapons.’

Page 81 – Magus, Abilities, Spiritual Leader
Change to read:
‘<Cult> units (other than Psykers) within 6" of any friendly 
<Cult> Magus models at the start of your opponent’s Psychic 
phase can attempt to deny one psychic power manifested within 
12" of them that phase as if they were themselves a Psyker 
(measure range to any model in the unit).’

*Pages 83 and 102 – Jackal Alphus and Ranged Weapons list, 
Jackal sniper rifle, Abilities
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time you select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the 
Look Out, Sir rule.’

Page 90 – Locus, Abilities, Unquestioning Bodyguard
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time a <Cult> Character model (other than a Locus) 
loses a wound whilst they are within 3" of any friendly <Cult> 
Locuses, you can select one of those Locuses to use this ability 
instead of using the Unquestioning Loyalty ability (pg 78).’

*Page 91 – Sanctus, Abilities, Camo Cloak
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time a ranged attack is allocated to this model while it 
is receiving the benefits of cover, add an additional 1 to any 
armour saving throw made against that attack.’

*Pages 91 and 103 – Sanctus and Ranged Weapons list, silencer 
sniper rifle, Abilities
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time you select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the 
Look Out, Sir rule.’

Page 92 – Kelermorph, Abilities, Heroic Deeds, 
Heroic Inspiration
Change this ability to read:
‘If this model kills any enemy models with its ranged weapons, 
then until the end of the phase, after resolving its attacks, re-roll 
hit rolls of 1 for attacks made by friendly <Cult> Infantry units 
whilst they are within 6" of this model.’

*Page 92 – Kelermorph, Abilities, Gunslinger
Change the first sentence to read: 
‘Each time you select a target for a ranged attack made by this 
model, you can ignore the Look Out, Sir rule.’

Page 95 – Atalan Jackals, unit description.
Change second sentence to read: 
‘It can include up to 4 additional Atalan Jackals (Power Rating 
+3) or up to 8 additional Atalan Jackals (Power Rating +6).’
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Page 98 – Cult Leman Russ, Abilities, Emergency Plasma Vents
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Instead, for each hit roll of 1, the bearer suffers 1 mortal wound 
after all of this weapon’s shots have been resolved.’

*Page 98 – Cult Leman Russ, Abilities, Grinding Advance
Delete the second sentence.

Page 100 – Cult Chimera, Transport
Add the following:
‘Each Astra Militarum Heavy Weapons Team takes the space 
of two other models and each Ogryn takes the space of three 
other models.’

Page 102 – Ranged Weapons list, mining laser
Change the weapon’s Damage characteristic to ‘D6’.

*Page 108 – Brood Brothers
Change the penultimate sentence to read:
‘Brood Brothers Detachments do not gain Command Benefits.’

Add the following paragraphs at the end of the Brood 
Brothers rules:
‘Orders
Brood Brothers units that have the Voice of Command or Tank 
Orders abilities (see Codex: Astra Militarum) cannot issue orders 
to any unit that has the Genestealer Cults Faction keyword, 
nor can they issue orders to units that they would not have been 
able to issue orders to before they gained the Brood Brothers 
keyword (e.g. a Brood Brothers Company Commander cannot 
issue orders to a Brood Brothers Ogryn unit or to a Brood 
Brothers Tempestus Scions unit). 

Transports
Brood Brothers Taurox Primes can only transport 10 Brood 
Brothers Officio Prefectus Infantry models or 10 Infantry 
models that replaced their Militarum Tempestus keyword with 
Brood Brothers.’

*Page 109 – Cult Creeds, The Hivecult: Disciplined Militants, 
rules text
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time a Morale test is failed for a unit with this Cult Creed, 
until the end of the phase, halve the number of models that flee that 
unit due to failed Combat Attrition tests (rounding fractions down).’

*Page 109 – Cult Creeds, Rusted Claw: Nomadic Survivalists
Change the second sentence of this Cult Creed to read:
‘If a Biker unit with this Cult Creed Advances, until the end of 
the turn, all models in that unit treat all Pistol and Rapid Fire 
weapons they are equipped with as Assault weapons. In addition, 
Biker models with this Cult Creed do not suffer the penalty to 
their hit rolls for Advancing and shooting Assault weapons.’

Page 110 – Stratagems, They Came From Below…, rules text
Add the followings:
‘Any units set up underground in this way cannot arrive on the 
battlefield during the first battle round, and in a matched play 
game, if they haven’t arrived from underground by the end of the 
third battle round they count as having been destroyed. You can 
only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 110 – Stratagems, Lurk in the Shadows, rules text
Change the third sentence to read:
‘Until the end of the phase, enemy models can only shoot that unit 
if it is the closest enemy unit that is visible to them.’

Page 111 – Stratagems, Lying in Wait, rules text
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Use this Stratagem when you set up a unit from your army as 
reinforcements that has the Cult Ambush ability and that was set 
up underground.’

Page 111 – Stratagems, A Perfect Ambush, rules text
Add the following:
‘You cannot use this Stratagem on a unit that disembarked from a 
Transport this turn.’

Page 112 – Stratagems, A Plan Generations in the Making, 
rules text
Add the following: 
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Designer’s Note: This publication went to print before the changes 
to the Drukhari Stratagem ‘Agents of Vect’ were made. To make this 
Stratagem different whilst still maintaining game balance, we have 
decided to make this Stratagem one use only rather than increasing 
the Command Point cost.

Page 113 – Broodmind Discipline, Mental Onslaught, rules text
Change the last sentence to read: 
‘If your score is higher, the enemy model’s unit suffers 1 mortal 
wound; if the selected model is still alive you then repeat this 
process (each player rolling a D6 and adding their respective 
Leadership) until either the selected model is destroyed, your 
opponent rolls a 6, and/or your opponent’s result is equal to or 
higher than yours.’

Page 113 – Broodmind Discipline, Mass Hypnosis
Add the following:
‘If the target has a rule that allows it to fight first in the Fight 
phase even if it did not charge, then instead of fighting last in 
the Fight phase, it fights as if it did not have that ability and did 
not charge.’

Page 113 – Broodmind Discipline, Mind Control
Change third and fourth sentences to read:
‘If the score is less than that model’s Leadership characteristic, 
nothing happens, but if it equals or exceeds it, that model can 
either shoot as if it were your Shooting phase, or make a single 
close combat attack as if it were the Fight phase. In either case, 
treat that model as if it were a separate unit that is part of your 
army whilst shooting or making that close combat attack.’

Page 115 – Cult Warlord Traits, The Rusted Claw: Entropic Touch
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time you roll an unmodified wound roll of 6 in the Fight 
phase for a model from a friendly Rusted Claw unit whilst it is 
within 6" of your Warlord, the Armour Penetration characteristic 
of that attack is improved by 1 (i.e. AP0 becomes AP-1, AP-1 
becomes AP-2, and so on).’
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Page 116 – Sacred Relics of the Cult, Amulet of the Voidwyrm, 
rules text
Change the second sentence to read:
‘In addition, enemy units cannot fire Overwatch at the 
bearer’s unit.’

*Page 116 – Sacred Relics of the Cult, Oppressor’s Bane, Abilities
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Each time you select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the 
Look Out, Sir rule.’

*Page 117 – Sacred Relics of the Cult, Metallophagic Stave, 
rules text
Change the Strength characteristic of this weapon to ‘+3’

Page 118 – Points Values, Troops, Brood Brothers Infantry Squad
Change the models per unit value to ‘10-20’.

Page 118 – Points Values, Achilles Ridgerunner
Change the Models per Unit value to read ‘1-3’.

FAQs
Q: Are units in Brood Brothers Detachments restricted from 
using Regimental Orders, or all orders?
A: They cannot use Regimental Orders, but can use other orders. 
Note the errata above that further clarified which units these 
orders can and cannot be issued to.

Q: If you use a Stratagem to stop an opponent’s Stratagem from 
being resolved (e.g. A Plan Generations in the Making ) to stop 
a one use only Stratagem such as Tide of Traitors, does that 
Stratagem still count as being used and therefore cannot be used 
again for the remainder of the battle?
A: No.

Q: Can ambush markers be placed on top of each other or 
partially overlapping?
A: No.

Q: In regards to ambush markers and revealing them, what is the 
correct order if one player has other interactions that would take 
place at the same time (e.g. Dark Matter Crystal)?
A: Revealing ambush markers is the final step, after all other ‘end 
of the Movement phase’ interactions have been completed.

Q: If a model suffers a mortal wound as a result of the Mental 
Onslaught psychic power, but then does not lose a wound due to an 
ability such as Disgustingly Resilient, does the Mental Onslaught 
power continue?
A: Yes.

Q: Can you use the A Perfect Ambush Stratagem on a unit set 
up in ambush when it is set up on the battlefield within 1" of an 
ambush marker?
A: Yes

Q: Can you use Stratagems such as They Came From Below to 
increase the number of units set up underground beyond the 
Strategic Reserves and Reinforcement unit limits?
A: Yes. The limits concerning this apply specifically to deployment, 
whilst this Stratagem is used once the battle has started.

Q: When setting up models in unit coherency as a result of the Cult 
Reinforcements Stratagem, does each model need to be set up in 
coherency with other models from that unit that were in play at the 
start of the phase?
A: Yes.

Q: How many autopistols can an Atalan Jackal be armed with?
A: When the wargear option states that ‘the same model cannot 
take the same weapon twice’, this is referring to weapons taken 
from the Atalan Weapons list, and does not include the autopistol 
that the model is armed with to start with. As such, an Atalan 
Jackal can take one autopistol from this list, which is in addition 
to the one it is already armed with.

Q: If a Psyker unit containing models with a Wounds 
characteristic of 1 suffers a wound from the Sanctus’ silencer sniper 
rifle, how is the resulting Perils of the Warp resolved?
A: If the unit loses any wounds as the result of an attack made with 
this weapon (in the case of a Psyker unit of single-wound models, 
this essentially means ‘if any models were destroyed as the result 
of an attack made with this weapon’), then the unit suffers Perils of 
the Warp. Note that the unit only suffers Perils of the Warp after 
the attack has been resolved; therefore, if the last model in that 
unit was destroyed by the attack, then there is no unit left on the 
battlefield to suffer Perils of the Warp (i.e. this ability can’t cause a 
Psyker unit to ‘explode’ if the attack destroys the last model in a 
unit before it suffers Perils of the Warp).

Q. If I target an enemy model within Engagement Range of another 
enemy unit with the Mind Control psychic power, can I choose to 
shoot with that model if the power is successfully manifested and I 
beat its Leadership characteristic on the 3D6 roll? 
A: As this model is now treated as part of your army, it would follow 
all the normal rules for units making shooting attacks whilst within 
1" of an enemy unit, so the answer to this question is no, unless you 
are shooting with a Pistol weapon (or another ranged weapon that 
can be shot even if enemy units are within 1"). Note that the model 
could still make a single close combat attack instead, though.

Q: The Gift From Beyond Relic adds +2 to the wound roll. Given 
that these rolls cannot be modified by more than -1 or +1, how does 
this work?
A: While hit rolls and wounds rolls cannot be modified by more 
than -1 or +1, this limit takes effect after all applicable modifiers 
have been applied, some of which may cancel each other out. 

For example, if a model making an attack with the Gift From 
Beyond, which is conferring a +2 modifier to the wound roll, 
targets a unit that has a rule that applies a -1 modifier to the 
wound roll, then, after applying both of these modifiers to the roll, 
there would be a final modifier of +1.
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WEAPON UPDATES
RANGED WEAPONS RANGE TYPE S AP D ABILITIES
Flamer 12" Assault D6 4 0 1 Each time an attack is made with this weapon, that attack automatically hits the target.
Hand flamer 12" Pistol D6 3 0 1 Each time an attack is made with this weapon, that attack automatically hits the target.
Heavy bolter 36" Heavy 3 5 -1 2 -
Heavy flamer 12" Heavy D6 5 -1 1 Each time an attack is made with this weapon, that attack automatically hits the target.
Hunter-killer missile 48" Heavy 1 10 -2 D6 The bearer can only shoot with each hunter-killer missile it is equipped with once per battle.
Multi-melta 24" Heavy 2 8 -4 D6  Each time an attack made with this weapon targets a unit within half range, that attack has 

a Damage characteristic of D6+2.
Plasma cannon Before selecting targets, select one of the profiles below to make attacks with.     
- Standard 36" Heavy D3 7 -3 1 Blast
- Supercharge 36" Heavy D3 8 -3 2  Blast. If any unmodified hit rolls of 1 are made for attacks with this weapon profile, the 

bearer is destroyed after shooting with this weapon.

MELEE WEAPONS RANGE TYPE S AP D ABILITIES
Force stave Melee Melee +3 -1 D3 -
Power axe Melee Melee +2 -2 1 -
Power maul Melee Melee +3 -1 1 -


