CODEX: ADEPTUS MECHANICUS

Indomitus Version 1.1

These documents collect amendments to the rules and present
our responses to players’ frequently asked questions. Often
these amendments are updates necessitated by new releases or
community feedback; these can be identified by the presence
of an asterisk before the page reference. At other times, these
amendments are errata designed to correct mistakes or add
clarity to a rule that is not as clear as it might be.

As they're revised regularly, each of these documents has a
version number; where a version number has a letter, e.g. 1.1a,
this means it has had a local amendment, only in that language,
to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction. When

a document is revised, the version number will be incremented
and new updates will be highlighted in blue, while new errata
and FAQs will be highlighted in magenta.

DESIGNER’S NOTES

WEAPON UPDATES

Several weapon profiles were updated in the 2020 edition of
Codex: Space Marines. As a result, where those same weapons
appear in this publication, they are updated to match. We have
also updated the wording of certain weapons’ abilities that
would explode or inflict mortal wounds on hit rolls of 1, so that
they now only do so on unmodified hit rolls of 1. The weapons in
question, and the updated profiles for them, are found at the end
of this document, and should be changed wherever they appear in
this book.

UPDATES & ERRATA

*Page 79 - Sicarian Infiltrators, Taser goad, Abilities
Change to read:

‘When resolving an attack made with this weapon, an
unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 2 additional hits.’

*Page 80 — Corpuscarii Electro-Priests, electrostatic gauntlets
(shooting) and electrostatic gauntlets (melee), Abilities
Change to read:

‘When resolving an attack made with this weapon, an
unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 2 additional hits.’

*Page 81 - Sydonian Dragoons, Taser lance, Abilities
Change to read:

‘When resolving an attack made with this weapon, an
unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 2 additional hits.’

*Pages 81 and 90 — Radium jezzail, Abilities

Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time you select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the
Look Out, Sir rule’

WARHAMMER 40,000 - CODEX: ADEPTUS MECHANICUS

*Page 83 — Onager Dunecrawler, Crawler
Delete this ability.

Page 83 - Onager Dunecrawler, Damage table
Change the first value under ‘Remaining W’ to 6-11+.

*Pages 84-88 — Knight Errant, Knight Paladin, Knight Warden,
Knight Gallant, and Knight Crusader, Super Heavy Walker
Change the ability to read:

“This model is eligible to declare a charge in a turn in which

it Fell Back. Each time this model makes a Normal Move,
Advances or Falls Back, it can be moved across other models
(excluding MoNSTER and VEHICLE models) as if they were not there,
and when it does it can be moved within Engagement Range

of such models, but cannot finish its move within Engagement
Range of any of them.

Pages 84-88 — Knight Errant, Knight Paladin, Knight Warden,
Knight Gallant and Knight Crusader, Keywords

Add ‘IMPERIAL KNIGHTS’ to the Faction keywords line.

Add ‘QuesToRIs CLASS’ to the keywords line.

Pages 84-87 and 91 - Knight Errant, Knight Paladin,
Knight Warden, Knight Gallant and Melee Weapons table,
reaper chainsword

Change the Strength characteristic of this weapon to +6’.

Page 84 - Knight Errant, Power Rating
Change to 22

Pages 85 and 86 - Knight Paladin and Knight Warden,
Power Rating
Change to 23’

Page 87 - Knight Gallant, Power Rating
Change to 20°

Page 87 - Knight Gallant, Profile line
Change the Attacks characteristic to ‘5’

Page 87 - Knight Gallant, Damage table
Change the first value under ‘WS’ to 2+
Change the second value under ‘WS’ to 3+
Change the third value under ‘WS’ to 4+.

Page 88 — Knight Crusader, Power Rating
Change to 25’

*Page 89 — Electrostatic gauntlets (shooting), Abilities
Change to read:

‘When resolving an attack made with this weapon, an
unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 2 additional hits.



*Page 90 — Transuranic Arquebus, Abilities

Change the second sentence to read:

‘Each time you select a target for this weapon, you can ignore the
Look Out, Sir rule’

*Page 91 - Electrostatic gauntlets (melee), taser lance and taser
goad, Abilities

Change to read:

‘When resolving an attack made with this weapon, an
unmodified hit roll of 6 scores 2 additional hits.’

Page 95 - Forge World Dogma, Graia: Refusal to Yield
Change the first sentence of rules text to read:

‘Roll a D6 each time a model with this dogma is slain or flees -
on a 6 that model refuses to yield; either that model is not slain
(and has 1 wound remaining), or that model does not flee.’

Page 96 - Stratagems, Scryerskull

Change the last clause of the last sentence to read:

‘or, in your Shooting phase, shoot with an ADEPTUS MECHANICUS
unit from your army without the penalties to your hit rolls from
the Dawn Raid, Low Visibility or Cover of Darkness rules.’

*Page 97 - Stratagems, Acquisition at Any Cost
Add the following sentence to the end:
“This Stratagem can only be used once per turn.’

*Page 97 - Rage of the Machines

Change the second sentence to read:

‘Until the end of the phase, that VEHICLE can ignore all penalties
for Advancing and firing an Assault weapon and for Advancing
and firing a cognis weapon.’

Page 98 - Stratagems, Rotate Ion Shields
Change the Command Point cost to ‘1CP/3CP’

Change the rules text to read:

‘Use this Stratagem when an enemy unit targets an IMPERIAL
KNIGHTS VEHICLE unit from your army that has an invulnerable
save (this Stratagem costs 3 CPs if the targeted unit is a DOMINUS
CLAss unit, otherwise it costs 1 CP). Until the end of the phase,
the vehicle unit’s invulnerable save is improved by 1 (to a
maximum of 4+).

Page 98 - Stratagems, Clandestine Infiltration

Change the rules text to read:

‘Use this Stratagem when you set up a STYGIES VIl unit from your
army during deployment. At the start of the first battle round
but before the first turn begins, you can move that unit up to 9".
It cannot end this move within 9" of any enemy models. If both
players have units that can move before the first turn begins, the
player who is taking the first turn moves their units first. Each
unit can only be selected for this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 99 - Forge World Warlord Traits, Masterwork Bionics
Change the title of this Warlord Trait to ‘Superior Bionics’.

FAQs

Q: A number of weapons (e.g. twin cognis autocannon) and other
rules (e.g. Protector Doctrina Imperative Stratagem) modify hit
rolls by more than -1 or +1. Given that hit rolls cannot be modified
by more than this, what effect do these rules have?

A: While hit rolls and wounds rolls cannot be modified by more
than -1 or +1, this limit takes effect after all applicable modifiers
have been applied, some of which may cancel each other out.

For example, in the Movement phase an Ironstrider Ballistarius
model Advances and then in the following Shooting phase
makes an attack with its twin cognis autocannon. The weapon
applies a -2 modifier to that attack’s hit roll, and so the model’s
controlling player uses the Protector Doctrina Imperative
Stratagem to also give a +2 modifier to the roll. Applying both of
these modifiers to the hit roll causes them to cancel each other
out, and no modifier is applied to the roll.

Q: Can the Clandestine Infiltration Stratagem be used when you
set up a STYGIES VIIl Transport that has any embarked units?
A: Yes.

Q: If a 6 is rolled for the invulnerable save conferred by a
Kastelan Robot’s Repulsor Grid ability, for an attack made by a
unit embarked upon a Transport with an ability such as Open-
topped or Extended Firing Deck, which unit is the mortal wound
allocated to, the embarked unit or the Transport?

A: The embarked unit that is making the attack suffers the
mortal wound.

Q: Do I need to spend reinforcement points to return units when
using the Fresh Converts Stratagem?
A: No.

Q: If you have a Detachment which receives the Mars forge world
dogma, and another Detachment which receives a different
forge world dogma, what happens when rolling for Canticles

of the Omnissiah? With Mars’ dogma you roll two dice when
determining Canticles and units with that dogma benefit from
both results, but what happens for the other Detachment?

A: In such cases you would roll dice separately for the Canticles,
rather than rolling for both together. The first Canticle rolled
for would apply to all of your units with the Canticles of the
Omnissiah ability, while the second would apply only to those
units in Mars Detachments.

Q: When is the Litany of the Electromancer Canticle resolved?
A: Immediately - i.e. at the start of the battle round when the
Canticle is chosen/rolled for.

Q: Does a weapon that ignores cover ignore the benefit bestowed
by the Shroudpsalm Canticle?
A: Yes.

Q: Can the Refusal to Yield dogma be used to prevent a unit
from being slain due to a 1 being rolled to hit when it uses its
plasma weapon?

A: Yes.
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Q: How do the Chorister Technis Warlord Trait and Glory to the
Omnissiah dogma interact — when do I re-roll the first dice?

A: Roll the first dice, then (if you wish) re-roll it. Then roll the
second dice.

Q: How do the Gloria Mechanicus Stratagem and Glory to the
Omnissiah dogma interact — which Canticle can you change with
this Stratagem?

A: Choose one Canticle to change.

Q: When using the Binharic Override Stratagem, when do the
new Battle Protocols you choose come into effect?
A: Immediately.

Q: When using the Cognis Overwatch Stratagem, do I apply any
relevant modifiers to the firing model’s Ballistic Skill?

A: Yes, as long as the weapon is a cognis weapon. Note that
modifiers to hit rolls do not apply.

Q: When using the Monitor Malevolus Warlord Trait, can you re-
roll a dice that determines how many mortal wounds are inflicted
on an enemy unit (i.e. is this classed as a damage roll?)

A: No, such a roll is not classed as a damage roll.

Q: Does the Static Psalm-code Warlord Trait affect the range of
the Master of Machines ability?
A: No.

Q: How does the Rage of the Machines Stratagem work with a
VEHICLE unit that consists of more than one model?

A: One VEHICLE model from that unit would gain the benefit of
that Stratagem.

Q: If a QUESTOR MECHANICUS unit from your army is selected as the
target of the Knight of the Cog Stratagem, must every unit in that
QuESTOR MECHANICUS unit’s Detachment also have the Canticles of
the Omnissiah ability in order for that QUESTOR MECHANICUS unit
to benefit from it?

A: No.

Q: At what point does the invulnerable save of FULGURITE ELECTRO-
PRIESTS get increased as a result of the Siphoned Vigour ability?
A: When the last model of the enemy unit is slain and removed
from the battlefield.

Q: Can a GRAIA model that has the Refusal to Yield ability also
make use of rules that allow them to ignore lost wounds, such as
Fanatical Devotion?

A: No.
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WEAPON UPDATES

RANGED WEAPONS RANGE TYPE S AP D  ABILITIES

Cognis flamer 12" Assault D6 4 0 1 Each time an attack is made with this weapon, that attack automatically hits the target. In
addition, when firing Overwatch with this weapon, roll two dice when determining how many
attacks it makes and discard the lowest result.

Heavy flamer 12" Heavy D6 5 1 1 Each time an attack is made with this weapon, that attack automatically hits the target.

Multi-melta 24" Heavy 2 8 -4 D6  Eachtime an attack made with this weapon targets a unit within half range, that attack has
a Damage characteristic of D6+2.

Plasma cannon Before selecting targets, select one of the profiles below to make attacks with.
- Standard 36" Heavy D3 /7 3 1 Blast
- Supercharge 36" Heavy D3 8 3 2 Blast. If any unmodified hit rolls of 1 are made for attacks with this weapon profile, the

bearer is destroyed after shooting with this weapon.

MELEE WEAPONS RANGE TYPE S AP D  ABILITIES

Power fist Melee Melee x2 -3 2 Each time an attack is made with this weaion, subtract 1 from that attack’s hit roll.

WARHAMMER 40,000 - CODEX: ADEPTUS MECHANICUS 4



