WARHAMMER 40,000
CODEX: SPACE MARINES

Official Update Version 1.5

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect,
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect
amendments to the rules and present our responses to
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated
regularly, each has a version number; when changes
are made, the version number will be updated, and any
changes from the previous version will be highlighted
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter,

e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other
minor correction.

ERRATA
Page 131 — Sergeant Equipment
Add ‘Combi-grav’.

Page 137 — Chaplain Grimaldus, Unmatched Zeal
Change the first sentence of this ability to read:

‘If you roll a hit roll of 6+in the Fight phase for a model
in a friendly BLACK TEMPLARS unit that is within 6" of
Chaplain Grimaldus, that model can immediately make
another close combat attack using the same weapon.’

Pages 139 and 190 — Wrist-mounted grenade launcher
Change the AP value to read “I’.

Page 141 — Primaris Captain, Wargear Options
Change the second bullet point to read:

‘This model may take a power sword, or replace its
master-crafted auto bolt rifle and bolt pistol with a
power fist and a plasma pistol.’

Page 148 — Tactical Squad, Wargear Options
Add a new bullet point as follows:
‘The Space Marine Sergeant may take melta bombs.’

Page 148 — Intercessor Squad, Wargear Options

Change the third bullet point to read:

‘e The Intercessor Sergeant may either replace their bolt
rifle with a chainsword, a power sword or a power fist,
or take a chainsword, a power sword or a power fist in
addition to their other weapons.’

Designer’s Note: This errata reflects the updated datasheet
changes found in Chapter Approved 2018.
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Page 149 — Scout Squad, Concealed Positions

Change this ability to read:

‘Concealed Positions: When you set up this unit during
deployment, it can be set up anywhere on the battlefield
that is more than 9" from the enemy deployment zone
and any enemy models.’

Page 154 — Company Champion

Change the unit description to read:

‘A Company Champion is a single model armed with a
bolt pistol, master-crafted power sword, frag grenades,
krak grenades and combat shield.’

Page 154 — Company Veterans, Wargear Options
Change the second bullet point to read:

‘Any model may replace their bolt pistol with a storm
shield or an item from the Melee Weapons or Pistols lists.’

Page 156 — Reiver Squad

Replace the first bullet point with the following:

‘e All Reivers in the unit may replace their bolt carbine
with a combat knife.

® The Reiver Sergeant may replace either his bolt
carbine or heavy bolt pistol with a combat knife.’

Pages 158 and 192 — Reiver Squad and Armoury of the
Space Marines, Grapnel Launchers

Change the first sentence to read:

‘When models with grapnel launchers move in the
Movement phase, do not count any vertical distance
they move against the total they can move (i.e.

moving vertically is free for these models in the
Movement phase).’

Pages 160, 161 and 188 — Grenade harness
Change the AP value to read “1’.

Pages 162, 169 and 189 — Melta bomb

Change the Abilities text to read:

‘You can re-roll failed wound rolls for this weapon if the
target is a VEHICLE.

Page 166 — Redemptor Dreadnought

Change the description to read:

‘A Redemptor Dreadnought is a single model equipped
with a heavy onslaught gatling cannon, heavy flamer,
two fragstorm grenade launchers and a Redemptor fist.’

Page 166 — Redemptor Dreadnought, Wargear Options
Add a new bullet point as follows:
‘This model may take an Icarus rocket pod.’



Page 175 — Stalker, Damage chart
Change the third value under ‘Remaining W’ to
read ‘1-2’.

Page 196 — Relics of the Chapter
Add the following sentence:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 196 — Born in the Saddle

Add the following sentence:

‘In addition, that unit does not suffer the penalty to hit
rolls for Advancing and firing Assault weapons.’

Page 197 — Strike from the Shadows

Change this Stratagem to read:

‘Use this Stratagem during deployment, when you set up
a RAVEN GUARD INFANTRY unit from your army. At the
start of the first battle round but before the first turn
begins, you can move that unit up to 9”. It cannot end
this move within 9" of any enemy models. If both players
have units that can move before the first turn begins,
the player who is taking the first turn moves their units
first. Each unit can only be selected for this Stratagem
once per battle.

Page 197 — Bolter Drill

Change the first two sentences to read:

‘Use this Stratagem just before an IMPERIAL FIsTS
INFANTRY unit attacks in the Shooting phase. Until the
end of the phase, each time you make a hit roll of 6+ for
a model from that unit firing a bolt weapon, that model
can immediately make another hit roll using the same
weapon at the same target (these bonus attacks cannot
themselves generate any further attacks).’

Page 197 — Flamecraft

Change the first two sentences to read:

‘Use this Stratagem just before a SALAMANDERS unit
attacks in the Shooting phase. Until the end of the
phase, add 1 to the wound rolls made for all of that
unit’s flame weapons.’

Page 199 — Warlord Traits

Change the first paragraph of the main text to read:
‘If the Warlord of your army is a Space Marines
CHARACTER, you can pick their Warlord Trait from the
Space Marines Warlord Traits table, or roll a dice and
consult the table to generate their Warlord Trait.’

Page 199 — Adept of the Codex

Change the rules text to read:

‘Whilst your Warlord is on the battlefield, roll a D6 each
time you spend a Command Point to use a Stratagem;
on a 5+ that CP is immediately refunded.’

Page 201 — The Sanctic Halo
Change the first sentence to read:
‘ULTRAMARINES CAPTAIN or CHAPTER MASTER only.’

Page 201 — The Crusader’s Helm

Change this ability to read:

‘BLACK TEMPLARS model only. The wearer of the
Crusader’s Helm increases the range of its aura abilities
by 3" (to a maximum of 12").

Page 202 — Librarius Discipline, Might of Heroes
Change the third sentence to read:

‘Until the start of your next Psychic phase, add 1

to that model’s Strength, Toughness and Attacks
characteristics (if an attack hits a unit that has more
than one Toughness characteristic, use the unit’s lowest
Toughness characteristic when making the resultant
wound roll).

Page 208 — Space Marine Points Values, Other Wargear
Add the following lines:

‘Auxiliary grenade launcher | 0

Centurion assault launchers | 0

Ironclad assault launchers | 5°

FAQs

Q: Can [ select LEGION OF THE DAMNED as my
<CHAPTER> keyword?

A: No.

Q: When a unit with the And They Shall Know No Fear ability
takes a Morale test, is the number that is added to the dice roll
for the number of models destroyed in that unit for that turn
considered to be a modifier (for the purposes of applying re-rolls
before modifiers)?

A: No, the number added is not considered to be

a modifier.

Q: Can I use a Signum to increase the Ballistic Skill characteristic
of a model when it shoots with a ranged weapon before being
removed as a casualty as part of the Astartes Banner ability?

A: No.

Q: Can the Killshot Stratagem be used to affect Deimos Pattern
Relic Predators?

A: No. The Killshot Stratagem can only be used to affect
models using the Predator datasheet.

Q: If the vehicle Sergeant Chronus is commanding is destroyed
and he survives, can he assume command of another vehicle?
A: No.

Q: When a Thunderfire Cannon is fired, are the shots resolved
with the Thunderfire Cannon’s Ballistic Skill or the Techmarine
Gunner’s Ballistic Skill?

A: The Thunderfire Cannon’s Ballistic Skill.

Q: Can a Techmarine Gunner make ranged attacks in the same
phase in which it operates a Thunderfire Cannon?
A: Yes.

Q: Can successor Chapters use the Warlord Traits of their
Sfounding Chapter?
A: No.
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Q: Can the Auspex Scan Stratagem be used to shoot an enemy
unit that is removed from the battlefield and then set up again,
Jor example, when using a teleport homer?

A: Yes.

Q: Can the Auspex Scan Stratagem be used to shoot an enemy
unit that is set wp on the battlefield before the start of the

Sirst turn?

A: No.

Q: If I use the Hellfire Shells or Flakk Missile Stratagem and I
hit, do I continue to roll to wound and do damage normally in
addition to doing mortal wounds?

A: No, the normal attack sequence ends.

Q: How do the Flakk Missile and Hellfire Shells Stratagems
interact with an Armorium Cherub? Are you able to ‘reload’ the
weapon and fire again with the benefit of the Stratagem?

A: No. You can, however, use the Stratagem a

second time to affect the second shot (subject to the
usual restrictions).

Q: Can I use the Flakk Missile Stratagem when a model fires a
cyclone missile launcher?
A: No.

Q: If an Armorium Cherub has been removed after reloading a
weapon, can a model use its Narthecium ability to return it to
the unit?

A: No.

Q: Which part of a Drop Pod should I measure distances from
and to, especially if the model has been assembled so its doors
can be opened or closed?

A: Measure all distances to and from any part of the
model, including its doors. If this model has been
assembled such that you can lower and raise its doors, then
when this model is first set up in the battlefield choose
whether the doors will be lowered or raised — you cannot
raise or lower the doors thereafter during the battle.

Designer’s Note: Choosing lo set this model up in the ‘raised

doors position’ simply represents the doors closing the instant
after its passengers have disembarked.
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