WARHAMMER 40,000

CODEX: CHAOS SPACE MARINES

Official Update Version 2.0

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect,
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect
amendments to the rules and present our responses to
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated
regularly, each has a version number; when changes
are made, the version number will be updated, and any
changes from the previous version will be highlighted
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter,

e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other
minor correction.

Please note that the errata and page references at

the beginning of this document refer to the second
edition of Codex: Chaos Space Marines. We have included
updated errata for the first edition of this codex as an
appendix at the end of this document. The FAQ section
is applicable to both editions of the codex.

ERRATA

Page 122 — Kharn the Betrayer

Change The Betrayer ability to read:

‘You cannot re-roll or modify hit rolls of 1 made for
Kharn the Betrayer in the Fight phase. Instead, those
attacks automatically hit another friendly unit within 1"
of Kharn. Randomly determine which unit is hit if there
is more than one. If there are no other friendly units
within 1" of Kharn, the hits are discarded.

Page 143 — Noise Marines, Music of the Apocalypse
Change the second sentence to read:

‘Do not remove the slain model yet — after the attacking
unit has finished making all its attacks, the slain model
can shoot with one of its ranged weapons as if it were
your Shooting phase.’

Page 147 — Obliterators, Fleshmetal Guns

Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time this unit is chosen to attack with fleshmetal
guns, roll three D3, one after the other, to determine
the characteristics of the unit’s fleshmetal guns when
resolving those attacks.’

Page 163 — Legion Traits

Change the first sentence to read:

‘If your army is Battle-forged, all CHARACTER,
INFANTRY, BIKER and HELBRUTE units in Chaos Space
Marine Detachments gain a Legion Trait, so long as
every unit in that Detachment is from the same Legion.’

Page 164 — Chaos Boon, Spawndom

Change the third sentence to the following:

‘If you do so, set up the Chaos Spawn within 6" of the
character and more than 1" from any enemy models
before removing them as a casualty.

Page 166 — Forward Operatives

Change this Stratagem to read:

‘Use this Stratagem during deployment, when you set
up an ALPHA LEGION INFANTRY unit from your army. At
the start of the first battle round but before the first turn
begins, you can move that unit up to 9". It cannot end
this move within 9" of any enemy models. If both players
have units that can move before the first turn begins,
the player who is taking the first turn moves their units
first. Each unit can only be selected for this Stratagem
once per battle.

Page 168 — Dark Hereticus Discipline, Gift of Chaos
Change the third sentence to read:

‘If a CHARACTER is slain by this power, you can add a
Chaos Spawn to your army within 6" of the character
and more than 1" from any enemy models before they
are removed as a casualty.’

Page 170 — The Black Mace

Change the first and second sentence to read:
‘Model with power maul or accursed crozius only.
The Black Mace replaces the bearer’s power maul or
accursed crozius and has the following profile:’

Page 171 — The Cursed Crozius

Change the first and second sentence to read:
‘WORD BEARERS model with power maul or accursed
crozius only. The Cursed Crozius replaces the
bearer’s power maul or accursed crozius and has the
following profile:’

Page 173 — The Voice of Lorgar

Change the rule to read:

‘Increases the range of your Warlord’s aura abilities (e.g.
Lord of Chaos, Demagogue) by 3". Increase the range of
any Prayers to the Dark Gods chanted by your Warlord
by 3"’

Page 174 — Points Values, Obliterators
Change the Obliterators’ Models per Unit value to read
‘1-3’ and Points per Model value to read ‘115".
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FAQs

Q: Does the additional attack granted from the Butcher’s Nails
Legion Traut still apply if the unit is fighting for a second time, or
is the additional attack only applied the first time the unit fights
in that Fight phase?

A: Each model in the unit can specifically make one
additional attack in the subsequent Fight phase, therefore
it only applies the first time that unit fights in that

Fight phase.

Q: If I use the Fire Frenzy Stratagem, the nearest visible enemy
unit is @ CHARACTER with a Wounds characteristic of less than
10, but there is another enemy unit closer that is not visible and
not a CHARACTER with a Wounds characteristic of less than 10,
can I target that CHARACTER?

A: No. In such instances, you must target the nearest
visible enemy unit that is not a CHARACTER with a
Wounds characteristic of less than 10.

Q: If I choose not to select a Mark of Chaos for Greater Possessed,
which units (if any) can benefit from its Locus of Power ability?
A: Only <LEGION> DAEMON units that you have also
chosen not to select a Mark of Chaos for.

Q: Can a model use the Incursion psychic power to summon a
unit even if it has moved during this turn? What about if it has
already used the Daemonic Ritual ability this turn?

A: Yes in either case.

Q: When using the Chaos Familiar Stratagem to replace a psychic
power, can I select a <MARK OF CHAOS> psychic power from the
Dark Hereticus discipline that the PSYKER would be eligible for?
A: Yes.

Q: If I use the Daemon Shell or Flakk Missile Stratagem and I
hit, do I continue to roll to wound and do damage normally in
addition to doing mortal wounds?

A: No, the normal attack sequence ends.

Q: How should Perils of the Warp be resolved against Rubric
Marine units led by an Aspiring Sorcerer?

A: Any mortal wounds suffered are applied to the
Sorcerer’s unit, so can be applied to another model if
you wish (if a model in that unit has already suffered any
wounds, any mortal wounds must still be applied to this
model first).

Q: If the Aspiring Sorcerer or Scarab Occult Sorcerer from a unit
has been slain, is this unit still treated as being a PSYKER?
A: Yes.

Designers Note: Whilst these units would not be able to
manifest or deny any psychic powers, any abilities, objectives or
effects which affect psykers are still likely to affect these warp-
infused animated suits of armour.

Q: Can the Killshot Stratagem be used to affect

Hellforged Predators?

A: No. The Killshot Stratagem can only be used to affect
models using the Chaos Predator datasheet.

Q: If I have a DAEMON model that can only be included once

in my army — for example, the Changeling — and that model is
slain during the game, can I use Daemonic Ritual to attempt to
summon it and add it to my army again?

A: Yes. Note that if you're playing a matched play game
you’ll need the appropriate reinforcement points to do so.

Q: Does disembarking effectively prevent a« CHAOS CHARACTER

from summoning a DAEMON unit that turn using the Daemonic
Ritual ability?

A:Yes. Models that disembark count as having moved for

all rules purposes, including Daemonic Ritual.

Q: If I am playing a mission such as The Relic, which has an
objective marker that a unit can carry, and Cypher is carrying
that objective marker when he is slain, what happens?

A: The objective marker is dropped.

Q: Can a Noise Marine use his Music of the Apocalypse ability if
he flees the battlefield?

A: No. This ability can only be used when the model

is slain.

Q: If several Noise Marines are slain in the same attack, can they
each use their Music of the Apocalypse ability to throw a grenade,
or can only one of them do so?

A: Each of them can throw a grenade.

Q: Maulerfiends have a wargear option to ‘replace both magma
cutters with lasher tendrils’. Does this mean I replace both magma
cutlers for a single ‘lasher tendrils’ weapon, or do I get two Tasher
tendrils’ weapons?

A: You replace both magma cutters with a single ‘lasher
tendrils’ weapon.

Q: If I take a unit of DAEMONS in a Chaos Space Marines
Detachment, do I lose my Legion Trait?

A: Yes. However, if you summon a unit of DAEMONS and
add them to your army, doing so does not affect your
Legion Trait.

Q: If I give a unit in my army an Icon of Vengeance, then at the
start of my first turn use the Beseech the Chaos Gods Stratagem
to make that unit dedicated to Khorne, Tzeentch, Nurgle or
Slaanesh, does the unit swap its Icon of Vengeance for the Chaos
Icon of their god, or does it keep the Icon of Vengeance?

A: It keeps the Icon of Vengeance.

Q: If I'voll a 12 on the Chaos Boon table, when adding a
Daemon Prince to my army, which Daemon Prince datasheet
should I use — the Daemon Prince or the Daemon Prince of
Chaos? In addition, what wargear options can it take?

A: Use the Daemon Prince datasheet from Codex: Chaos
Space Marines. The model can be equipped with any of
its normal wargear options, providing you have the right
model and it is built appropriately.
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Q: Are the bonus attacks from Death to the False Emperor and the
Excess of Violence Stratagem cumulative? For example, if a model
with an Attacks characteristic of 1 rolled a hit roll of 6+ when
attacking an IMPERIUM unit (thereby giving it an extra attack)
and then both of those attacks killed enemy models, would I then
make two extra attacks for that model? If yes, what happens if I
roll hit rolls of 6+ for these attacks?

A: Yes, they are cumulative. In the example given, you
would make two extra attacks but any further hit rolls of
6+ (and any subsequent models slain) would not generate
any further attacks.

Q: If an enemy CHARACTER is slain by the Gift of Chaos or
Possession psychic power, do I need to have the appropriate
reinforcement points set aside in order to set up the Chaos Spawn
or Greater Possessed?

A: Yes, if you are playing a matched play game.

Q: If I manifest the Gift of Chaos psychic power, and target a unit
whose models have different Toughness characteristics, which one
should I use?

A: Use the highest Toughness characteristic in the

target unit.

Q: Do modifications to Haarken Worldclaimer’s Attacks
characteristic due to his Head-claimer ability last until the end of
the battle?

A: Yes.
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APPENDIX

The following errata apply only to the first edition of
Codex: Chaos Space Marines.

Page 116 — <Mark of Chaos>

Add the following to the last paragraph:

‘If a unit has the TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH
keywords, it cannot be from the World Eaters Legion,
and if a unit has the KHORNE, TZEENTCH or NURGLE
keywords, it cannot be from the Emperor’s Children
Legion. In addition, PSYKERS cannot be from the World
Eaters Legion.’

Page 117 - Champion Equipment

Change the second heading to read:

‘One of the champion’s weapons can be chosen from the
following list:’

Page 117 — Daemonic Ritual

Change the third sentence of the fourth paragraph

to read:

‘This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and
can be placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly
within 12" of the character and more than 9" from any
enemy model.’

Page 120 — Kharn the Betrayer

Change The Betrayer ability to read:

‘You cannot re-roll or modify hit rolls of 1 made for
Kharn the Betrayer in the Fight phase.

Instead, those attacks automatically hit another friendly
unit within 1" of Kharn. Randomly determine which
unit is hit if there is more than one. If there are no other
friendly units within 1" of Kharn, the hits are discarded.’

Page 121 - Cypher, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘No-one’s Puppet: Cypher cannot use the Daemonic
Ritual ability, even though he has the CHA0s and
CHARACTER keywords.’

Page 129 — Bloodletters
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 131 - Plaguebearers
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 131 — Daemonettes
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 132 — Khorne Berzerkers, Abilities
Add the following ability:

‘Berzerker Horde: The Battlefield Role of WORLD EATERS

Khorne Berzerkers is Troops instead of Elites.’
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Page 135 — Noise Marines, Music of the Apocalypse
Change the second sentence to read:

‘Do not remove the slain model yet — after the attacking
unit has finished making all its attacks, the slain model
can shoot with one of its ranged weapons as if it were your
Shooting phase.’

Page 135 — Noise Marines, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘Masters of the Kakophoni: The Battlefield Role of
EMPEROR’S CHILDREN Noise Marines is Troops instead
of Elites.’

Page 136 — Chosen, Wargear Options
Change this unit’s wargear options to read:
‘e Any Chosen may take one item from the Melee
Weapons list.
¢ Up to four Chosen may choose one of the
following options:
® Replace his bolt pistol with a plasma pistol.
® Replace his boltgun with one item from the Comb:-
weapons or Special Weapons lists.
® Replace his boltgun and bolt pistol with a
lightning claw.
® An additional Chosen may replace his boltgun with one
item from the Special Weapons or Heavy Weapons lists.
® The Chosen Champion may either take one item from
the Melee Weapons list, or replace his boltgun and bolt
pistol with items from the Champion Equipment list.
® One model may take a Chaos Icon (pg 153).

Page 138 — Helbrute, Wargear Options

Change the third bullet point to read:

‘e This model may replace each Helbrute fist with a
Helbrute hammer or power scourge.’

Page 142 — Obliterators
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the keywords line.

Page 142 — Obliterators, Fleshmetal Guns

Change the first sentence to read:

‘Each time this unit is chosen to attack with fleshmetal
guns, roll three D3, one after the other, to determine
the characteristics of the unit’s fleshmetal guns when
resolving those attacks.’

Page 146 — Chaos Predator, Damage table
Change the top value under ‘Remaining W’ to
read ‘6-11+.

Change the second value under ‘Remaining W’ to
read ‘3-5’.

Page 149 — Khorne Lord of Skulls
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the keywords line.



Page 157 — Abilities, Legion Traits

Change the first sentence of rules text to read:

‘If your army is Battle-forged, all CHARACTER, INFANTRY,
BIKER and HELBRUTE units in Chaos Space Marine
Detachments gain a Legion Trait, so long as every unit in
that Detachment is from the same Legion.’

Page 158 — Gifts of Chaos
Add the following sentence:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 158 — Chaos Boon

Change the first sentence of rules text to read:

‘Use this Stratagem at the end of a Fight phase in which
one of your HERETIC ASTARTES CHARACTERS (excluding
DAEMON CHARACTERS) slays an enemy CHARACTER,
VEHICLE or MONSTER.’

Page 158 — Chaos Boon, Spawndom

Change the third sentence to the following:

‘If you do so, set up the Chaos Spawn within 6" of the
character and more than 1" from any enemy models
before removing them as a casualty.’

Page 159 — Tide of Traitors
Add the following sentence:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 159 — Killshot

Change the second sentence of rules text to read:
‘Add 1 to the wound rolls and damage for all of the
Predators’ attacks that target MONSTERS or VEHICLES
this phase.’

Page 160 — Forward Operatives

Change this Stratagem to read:

‘Use this Stratagem during deployment, when you set

up an ALPHA LEGION INFANTRY unit from your army. At
the start of the first battle round but before the first turn
begins, you can move that unit up to 9". It cannot end
this move within 9" of any enemy models. If both players
have units that can move before the first turn begins, the
player who is taking the first turn moves their units first.
Each unit can only be selected for this Stratagem once
per battle.

Page 161 - Gift of Chaos

Change the second sentence of rules text to read:

‘If manifested, select an enemy unit that is within 6" of
the psyker and visible to him and roll a D6’

Page 161 — Dark Hereticus Discipline, Gift of Chaos
Change the third sentence to read:

‘If a CHARACTER is slain by this power, you can add a
Chaos Spawn to your army within 6" of the character and
more than 1" from any enemy models before they are
removed as a casualty.’

Page 161 — Mark of Tzeentch: Weaver of Fates
Change the third sentence of rules text to read:
‘Until the start of your next Psychic phase, the
invulnerable save of that unit is improved by 1 (to a
maximum of 3+).

Page 165 — The Voice of Lorgar

Change the rule to read:

‘Increases the range of your Warlord’s aura abilities (e.g.
Lord of Chaos, Demagogue) by 3". Increase the range of
any Prayers to the Dark Gods chanted by your Warlord
by 3"
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