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WARHAMMER 40,000 

CODEX: ADEPTUS MECHANICUS
Official Update Version 1.3

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

ERRATA
Page 83 – Onager Dunecrawler, Damage table
Change the first value under ‘Remaining W’ to ‘6-11+’.

Pages 84-88 – Knight Errant, Knight Paladin, Knight 
Warden, Knight Gallant and Knight Crusader, Abilities, 
Super-heavy Walker
Change to read:
‘Super-heavy Walker: This model can Fall Back in the 
Movement phase and still shoot and/or charge in the 
same turn. When this model Falls Back, it can move over 
enemy Infantry and Swarm models, though it must 
end its move more than 1" from any enemy units. In 
addition, this model can move and fire Heavy weapons 
without suffering the penalty to its hit rolls. Finally, this 
model only gains a bonus to its save for being in cover if 
at least half of the model is obscured from the firer.’

Pages 84-88 – Knight Errant, Knight Paladin, Knight 
Warden, Knight Gallant and Knight Crusader, Keywords
Add ‘Imperial Knights’ to the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘Questoris Class’ to the keywords line.

Pages 84-87 and 91 – Reaper chainsword
Change the Strength characteristic of this weapon 
to ‘+6’.

Page 84 – Knight Errant, Power Rating
Change to ‘22’

Pages 85-86 – Knight Paladin and Knight Warden, 
Power Rating
Change to ‘23’

Page 87 – Knight Gallant, Power Rating
Change to ‘20’

Page 87 – Knight Gallant, Profile line
Change the Attacks characteristic to ‘5’

Page 87 – Knight Gallant, Damage table
Change the first value under ‘WS’ to ‘2+’.
Change the second value under ‘WS’ to ‘3+’.
Change the third value under ‘WS’ to ‘4+’.

Page 88 – Knight Crusader, Power Rating
Change to ‘25’

Page 95 – Graia: Refusal to Yield
Change the first sentence of rules text to read:
‘Roll a D6 each time a model with this dogma is slain 
or flees – on a 6 that model refuses to yield; either that 
model is not slain (and has 1 wound remaining), or that 
model does not flee.’

Page 96 – Scryerskull
Change the last clause of the last sentence to read:
‘or, in your Shooting phase, shoot with an Adeptus 
Mechanicus unit from your army without the penalties 
to your hit rolls from the Dawn Raid, Low Visibility or 
Cover of Darkness rules.’

Page 98 – Rotate Ion Shields
Change the Command Point cost to ‘1CP/3CP’

Change the rules text to read:
‘Use this Stratagem when an enemy unit targets an 
Imperial Knights Vehicle unit from your army that 
has an invulnerable save (this Stratagem costs 3 CPs if 
the targeted unit is a Dominus Class unit, otherwise 
it costs 1 CP). Until the end of the phase, the vehicle 
unit’s invulnerable save is improved by 1 (to a maximum 
of 4+).’

Page 98 – Clandestine Infiltration 
  Change this Stratagem to read: 
‘Use this Stratagem when you set up a Stygies VIII unit 
from your army during deployment. At the start of the 
first battle round but before the first turn begins, you 
can move that unit up to 9". It cannot end this move 
within 9" of any enemy models. If both players have 
units that can move before the first turn begins, the 
player who is taking the first turn moves their units first. 
Each unit can only be selected for this Stratagem once 
per battle.’
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Page 99 – Forge World Warlord Traits, 
Masterwork Bionics
Change the title of this Warlord Trait to 
‘Superior Bionics’.

Page 102 – Units
Amend this table as follows:

UNIT MODELS 
PER UNIT

POINTS PER MODEL  
(Does not include wargear)

Knight Crusader 1 285
Knight Errant 1 285
Knight Gallant 1 285
Knight Paladin 1 285
Knight Warden 1 285

Page 102 – Ranged weapons
Amend this table as follows:
WEAPON POINTS PER WEAPON 
Avenger gatling cannon 75

FAQs
Q: Do I need to spend reinforcement points to return units when 
using the Fresh Converts Stratagem?
A: No.

Q: If you have a Detachment which receives the Mars forge 
world dogma, and another Detachment which receives a 
different forge world dogma, what happens when rolling for 
Canticles of the Omnissiah? With Mars’ dogma you roll two dice 
when determining Canticles and units with that dogma benefit 
from both results, but what happens for the other Detachment?
A: In such cases you would roll dice separately for the 
Canticles, rather than rolling for both together. The first 
Canticle rolled for would apply to all of your units with 
the Canticles of the Omnissiah ability, while the second 
would apply only to those units in Mars Detachments.

Q: When is the Litany of the Electromancer Canticle resolved?
A: Immediately – i.e. at the start of the battle round 
when the Canticle is chosen/rolled for.

Q: Does a weapon that ignores cover ignore the benefit bestowed 
by the Shroudpsalm Canticle?
A: Yes.

Q: Can the Refusal to Yield dogma be used to prevent a unit 
from being slain due to a 1 being rolled to hit when it uses its 
plasma weapon?
A: Yes.

Q: How do the Chorister Technis Warlord Trait and Glory to 
the Omnissiah dogma interact – when do I re-roll the first dice?
A: Roll the first dice, then (if you wish) re-roll it. Then 
roll the second dice.

Q: How do the Gloria Mechanicus Stratagem and Glory to the 
Omnissiah dogma interact – which Canticle can you change 
with this Stratagem?
A: Choose one Canticle to change.

Q: When using the Binharic Override Stratagem, when do the 
new Battle Protocols you choose come into effect?
A: Immediately.

Q: When using the Cognis Overwatch Stratagem, do I apply 
any relevant modifiers to the firing model’s Ballistic Skill?
A: Yes, as long as the weapon is a cognis weapon. Note 
that modifiers to hit rolls do not apply.

Q: When using the Monitor Malevolus Warlord Trait, can 
you re-roll a dice that determines how many mortal wounds 
are inflicted on an enemy unit (i.e. is this classed as a 
damage roll?)
A: No, such a roll is not classed as a damage roll.

Q: Does the Static Psalm-code Warlord Trait affect the range of 
the Master of Machines ability?
A: No.

Q: How does the Rage of the Machines Stratagem work with a 
Vehicle unit that consists of more than one model?
A: One Vehicle model from that unit would gain the 
benefit of that Stratagem. 

Q: If a Questor Mechanicus unit from your army is 
selected as the target of the Knight of the Cog Stratagem, must 
every unit in that Questor Mechanicus unit’s Detachment 
also have the Canticles of the Omnissiah ability in order for that 
Questor Mechanicus unit to benefit from it?
A: No.

Q: At what point does the invulnerable save of Fulgurite 
Electro-Priests get increased as a result of the Siphoned 
Vigour ability?
A: When the last model of the enemy unit is slain and 
removed from the battlefield. 

Q: Can a Graia model that has the Refusal to Yield ability 
also make use of rules that allow them to ignore lost wounds, 
such as Fanatical Devotion?
A: No. 


