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WARHAMMER 40,000 

CODEX: T’AU EMPIRE
Official Update Version 1.1

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

ERRATA
Page 93 – Commander in XV86 Coldstar Battlesuit, 
Wargear Options
Change the first bullet point to read:
‘•  This model may replace its high-output burst cannon 

and missile pod with two items from the Ranged 
Weapons and/or Support Systems lists.’

Page 121 – Cyclic ion blaster, Overcharge profile
Change the abilities text to read:
‘If you roll one of more hit rolls of 1, the bearer’s unit 
suffers a mortal wound after all of this weapon’s shots 
have been resolved.’

Page 127 – Dal’yth Sept: Adaptive Camouflage
Change the rules text to read:
‘A unit with the tenet receives the benefit of cover, even 
while in the open. A unit with this tenet that moves for 
any reason loses the benefit of this tenet until the start 
of its next Movement phase.’

Page 130 – Focused Fire
Change the rules text to read:
‘Use this Stratagem after a T’au Sept unit from your 
army has attacked an enemy unit in the Shooting phase 
and the attack resulted in the enemy unit losing one or 
more wounds. Add 1 to wound rolls for attacks made by 
other T’au Sept units from your army that target the 
same enemy unit this phase.’

DATACARDS: T’AU EMPIRE
Automated Repair System (Stratagem)
Change the first sentence of the rules text on this 
datacard to read:
‘Use this Stratagem at the start of any turn.’

FAQs
Q: In Index: Xenos 2, the Stimulant Injector was a piece 
of wargear that I could purchase for certain T’au Empire 
units. In Codex: T’au Empire, the Stimulant Injector is 
no longer a wargear option, but instead there is a Stimulant 
Injector Stratagem. Can I continue to use the Index: Xenos 2 
datasheets in order to purchase Stimulant Injectors for my units, 
as per the ‘What datasheet rules should I use?’ flowchart? 
A: No. You cannot purchase Stimulant Injectors 
anymore and the rules for Stimulant Injectors as 
presented in Codex: T’au Empire (i.e. the Stratagem) 
take precedence.

Q: With regards the Cadre Fireblade’s Volley Fire ability, what 
exactly is meant by ‘may fire an extra shot’?
A: It means the player can make one more hit roll for 
each model.

Q: If you set up a Devilfish transport with a unit of Pathfinders 
embarked inside, and the Pathfinders are accompanied by a 
Tactical Drone, at which point does the Pathfinder unit count 
as ‘set up’ for the purposes of the Drone Support ability? I.e. 
does the Drone become a separate unit when the Devilfish is 
set up, or does it become a separate unit when the Pathfinder 
unit disembarks?
A: The unit of Pathfinders counts as having been set up 
embarked within the Devilfish, so the Drone becomes a 
separate unit as soon as the Devilfish is set up.

Q: Can an Infantry unit with accompanying Drones be 
deployed within a Fortification if the Drones cannot embark 
inside that Fortification?
A: Yes, but the Drones themselves cannot embark inside 
the Fortification – instead they must be set up within 2" 
of the Fortification when their unit is deployed within it.

Q: The multi-tracker allows you to re-roll hit rolls of 1 in the 
Shooting phase for a model equipped with it, as long as it fires 
all of its weapons at the same target. What if the target is out 
of range for one or more of the firing model’s weapons? Do you 
have to pick a target that can be fired at by all of the firing 
model’s weapons?
A: No, the intent is that any weapons that the firing 
model can legitimately fire must be fired at the 
same target.

Q: Can I use the Breach and Clear! Stratagem against a unit 
that has 3 or more markerlight tokens on it? 
A: Yes.
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Q: Is the Experimental Weaponry Stratagem used before or after I 
determine how many shots are fired by a weapon?
A: Before.

Q: How does the Saviour Protocols ability work when a T’au 
Empire unit is hit and wounded by a powerful weapon, like a 
lascannon, when it is near to some friendly Drones?
A: Let’s imagine a T’au Sept unit is targeted by a model 
firing a lascannon whilst a friendly T’au Sept Drone 
unit is within 3" of it. The hit roll and wound rolls for 
the attack made with the lascannon are both successful. 
The T’au Sept player then rolls one D6, scoring a 3 – this 
is more than 2+ so they choose to allocate the wound 
caused by the lascannon’s attack to the nearby Drone 
unit instead. Instead of resolving the damage normally 
against the Drone unit (i.e. taking a saving throw, and if it 
is failed, inflicting damage equal to the weapon’s Damage 
characteristic – in this case D6), the Drone unit suffers 1 
mortal wound, typically resulting in the destruction of a 
single Drone model.

Q: For the purposes of the Saviour Protocols ability, what exactly 
constitutes an attack?
A: In this context, it is an attack made with a ranged or 
melee weapon.

Q: Is a longshot pulse rifle considered a pulse rifle for the 
purposes of volley fire?
A: No.

Q: If a Commander uses their Master of War ability to declare 
either Kauyon or Mont’ka, and a friendly <Sept> unit that 
was more than 6" from that Commander at the beginning of the 
turn subsequently moves within 6" of that Commander during 
that turn, does that <Sept> unit then benefit from Kauyon 
or Mont’ka? 
A: No. Kauyon and Mont’ka only affect those units that 
are within 6" of the Commander when the ability was 
used at the start of the turn.


