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WARHAMMER 40,000 

CODEX: SPACE MARINES
Official Update Version 1.3

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

ERRATA
Page 131 – Sergeant Equipment
Add ‘Combi-grav’.

Page 137 – Chaplain Grimaldus, Unmatched Zeal
Change the first sentence of this ability to read:
‘If you roll a hit roll of 6+in the Fight phase for a model 
in a friendly Black Templars unit that is within 6" of 
Chaplain Grimaldus, that model can immediately make 
another close combat attack using the same weapon.’

Pages 139 and 190 – Wrist-mounted grenade launcher
Change the AP value to read ‘-1’.

Page 141 – Primaris Captain, Wargear Options
Change the second bullet point to read:
‘This model may take a power sword, or replace its 
master-crafted auto bolt rifle and bolt pistol with a 
power fist and a plasma pistol.’

Page 148 – Tactical Squad, Wargear Options
Add a new bullet point as follows:
‘The Space Marine Sergeant may take melta bombs.’

Page 148 – Intercessor Squad, Wargear Options
Change the third bullet point to read:
‘The Intercessor Sergeant may either replace their 
bolt rifle with a power sword, or take a power sword in 
addition to their other weapons.’

Page 149 – Scout Squad, Concealed Positions
Change this ability to read:
‘Concealed Positions: When you set up this unit during 
deployment, it can be set up anywhere on the battlefield 
that is more than 9" from the enemy deployment zone 
and any enemy models.’

Page 154 – Company Champion
Change the unit description to read:
‘A Company Champion is a single model armed with a 
bolt pistol, master-crafted power sword, frag grenades, 
krak grenades and combat shield.’

Page 154 – Company Veterans, Wargear Options
Change the second bullet point to read:
‘Any model may replace their bolt pistol with a storm 
shield or an item from the Melee Weapons or Pistols lists.’

Page 156 – Reiver Squad
Replace the first bullet point with the following:
‘•  All Reivers in the unit may replace their bolt carbine 

with a combat knife.
•  The Reiver Sergeant may replace either his bolt 

carbine or heavy bolt pistol with a combat knife.’

Pages 160, 161 and 188 – Grenade harness
Change the AP value to read ‘-1’.

Pages 162, 169 and 189 – Melta bomb
Change the Abilities text to read:
‘You can re-roll failed wound rolls for this weapon if the 
target is a Vehicle.’

Page 166 – Redemptor Dreadnought
Change the description to read:
‘A Redemptor Dreadnought is a single model equipped 
with a heavy onslaught gatling cannon, heavy flamer, 
two fragstorm grenade launchers and a Redemptor fist.’

Page 166 – Redemptor Dreadnought, Wargear Options
Add a new bullet point as follows:
‘This model may take an Icarus rocket pod.’

Page 175 – Stalker, Damage chart
Change the third value under ‘Remaining W’ to 
read ‘1-2’.

Page 196 – Relics of the Chapter
Add the following sentence:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 196 – Born in the Saddle
Add the following sentence:
‘In addition, that unit does not suffer the penalty to hit 
rolls for Advancing and firing Assault weapons.’
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Page 197 – Bolter Drill
Change the first two sentences to read:
‘Use this Stratagem just before an Imperial Fists 
Infantry unit attacks in the Shooting phase. Until the 
end of the phase, each time you make a hit roll of 6+ for 
a model from that unit firing a bolt weapon, that model 
can immediately make another hit roll using the same 
weapon at the same target (these bonus attacks cannot 
themselves generate any further attacks).’

Page 197 – Flamecraft
Change the first two sentences to read:
‘Use this Stratagem just before a Salamanders unit 
attacks in the Shooting phase. Until the end of the 
phase, add 1 to the wound rolls made for all of that 
unit’s flame weapons.’

Page 199 – Warlord Traits
Change the first paragraph of the main text to read:
‘If the Warlord of your army is a Space Marines 
Character, you can pick their Warlord Trait from the 
Space Marines Warlord Traits table, or roll a dice and 
consult the table to generate their Warlord Trait.’

Page 199 – Adept of the Codex
Change the rules text to read:
‘Whilst your Warlord is on the battlefield, roll a D6 each 
time you spend a Command Point to use a Stratagem; 
on a 5+ that CP is immediately refunded.’

Page 201 – The Sanctic Halo
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Ultramarines Captain or Chapter Master only.’

Page 202 – Librarius Discipline, Might of Heroes
Change the third sentence to read:
‘Until the start of your next Psychic phase, add 1 
to that model’s Strength, Toughness and Attacks 
characteristics (if an attack hits a unit that has more 
than one Toughness characteristic, use the unit’s lowest 
Toughness characteristic when making the resultant 
wound roll).’

Page 208 – Space Marine Points Values, Other Wargear
Add the following lines:
‘ Auxiliary grenade launcher  |  1
Centurion assault launchers  |  3
Ironclad assault launchers  |  5’

FAQs
Q: If the vehicle Sergeant Chronus is commanding is destroyed 
and he survives, can he assume command of another vehicle?
A: No.

Q: When a Thunderfire Cannon is fired, are the shots resolved 
with the Thunderfire Cannon’s Ballistic Skill or the Techmarine 
Gunner’s Ballistic Skill?
A: The Thunderfire Cannon’s Ballistic Skill.

Q: Can a Techmarine Gunner make ranged attacks in the same 
phase in which it operates a Thunderfire Cannon?
A: Yes.

Q: Can successor Chapters use the Warlord Traits of their 
founding Chapter?
A: No.

Q: Can the Auspex Scan Stratagem be used to shoot an enemy 
unit that is removed from the battlefield and then set up again, 
for example, when using a teleport homer?
A: Yes.

Q: Can the Auspex Scan Stratagem be used to shoot an enemy 
unit that is set up on the battlefield before the start of the 
first turn (for example, when using the Forward Operatives 
Stratagem in Codex: Chaos Space Marines)?
A: No.

Q: How do the Flakk Missile and Hellfire Shells Stratagems 
interact with an Armorium Cherub? Are you able to ‘reload’ the 
weapon and fire again with the benefit of the Stratagem?
A: Yes.

Q: Can I use the Flakk Missile Stratagem when a model fires a 
cyclone missile launcher?
A: No.

Q: If an Armorium Cherub has been removed after reloading a 
weapon, can a model use its Narthecium ability to return it to 
the unit?
A: No.


