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WARHAMMER 40,000

INDEX: XENOS 2
Official Update Version 1.4

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

ERRATA
Page 10 – Mob Rule
Change the rule to read:
‘When using the Leadership characteristic of this unit, 
you can use either its own Leadership characteristic, 
or you can choose for the characteristic to be equal to 
either the number of models in the unit, or the number 
of models in another friendly unit within 6" that has 
this ability.’

Page 13 – Warboss on Warbike, Waaagh!
Change the rule to read:
‘Friendly Ork Infantry and Biker units within 6" of 
this model at the start of the Charge phase can charge 
even if they Advanced this turn.’

Pages 14, 15, 16, 31 and 38 – Kustom Force Field
Change the first sentence of this rule to read:
‘If this model is equipped with a kustom force field, 
friendly Ork units that are entirely within 9" have a 5+ 
invulnerable save against ranged weapons.’

Page 16 – Ghazghkull Thraka, The Boss is Watchin’
Change the first sentence to read:
‘If a friendly Ork unit fails a Morale test and they are 
within 6" of Ghazghkull Thraka, he can restore order 
with a brutal display of violence.’

Page 34 – Big Gunz, Grot Krew
Change the final sentence to read:
‘From that point on, each Big Gun and each 2-model 
group of Grot Gunners act as separate units.’

Page 35 – Mek Gunz, Grot Krew
Change the final sentence to read:
‘From that point on, each Mek Gun and each 5-model 
group of Grot Gunners act as separate units.’

Pages 50, 52 and 53 – Master of War
Change the first sentence to read:
‘At the beginning of your turn, a single friendly 
Commander can declare either Kauyon or Mont’ka. You 
can only use the Master of War ability once per battle, 
irrespective of how many models in your army have 
this ability.’

Pages 53, 63 and 69 – Abilities
Add the following sentence onto the end of the MV52 
Shield Generator and Shield Generator abilities:
‘In addition, roll a D6 each time a Drone with this 
ability loses a wound; on a 5+ that Drone does not lose 
a wound.’

Pages 53, 56, 57, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73 
and 74 – Saviour Protocols
Change this rule to read:
‘Saviour Protocols: If a <Sept> Drones unit is within 3" 
of a friendly <Sept> Infantry or <Sept> Battlesuit 
unit when an enemy attack successfully wounds it, you 
can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of 
the target. If you do, that Drones unit suffers a mortal 
wound instead of the normal damage.’

Page 62 – XV95 Ghostkeel Battlesuit, Stealth Field
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Models shooting at a Stealth Drone or any Ghostkeel 
Battlesuit that is within 3" of any friendly Stealth Drones 
subtract 1 from their hit rolls.’

Page 68 – AX39 Sun Shark Bomber
Change the second sentence of this datasheet’s 
description to read:
‘It is accompanied by 2 MV17 Interceptor Drones, each 
equipped with two ion rifles.’

Page 72 – Keywords (Longstrike’s Gunship)
Add ‘Hammerhead’.

Page 72 – Longstrike, Fire Caste Exemplar
Change this ability to read:
‘You can add 1 to hit rolls in the Shooting phase for 
friendly T’au Sept Hammerhead units within 6" 
of Longstrike.’

Page 73 – Keywords (Hammerhead)
Add ‘Hammerhead’.
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Page 74 – XV88 Broadside Battlesuit
Change the final sentence of this datasheet’s description 
to read:
‘Each Broadside Battlesuit may be accompanied by up to 
2 MV8 Missile Drones, each equipped with a missile pod 
(Power Rating +2), or up to 2 Tactical Drones (pg 69) 
(Power Rating +1).’

Page 85 – Hive Mind Discipline, Catalyst
Change the last sentence to read:
‘Until the start of your next Psychic phase, each time 
that unit loses a wound, roll a D6; on a 5+ the unit does 
not lose that wound.’

Pages 87, 105, 106 and 107 – Prehensile pincer tail
Change the Strength characteristic of this weapon in all 
instances to ‘User’.

Page 87 – Old One Eye, Alpha Leader
Change this ability to read:
‘You can add 1 to hit rolls in the Fight phase for friendly 
<Hive Fleet> Carnifex units that are within 6" of 
this model.’

Page 89 – Tyranid Prime, Alpha Warrior
Change this ability to read:
‘You can add 1 to hit rolls for all <Hive Fleet> Tyranid 
Warrior units and <Hive Fleet> Tyranid Shrike 
units that are within 6" of any friendly <Hive Fleet> 
Tyranid Primes.’

Page 89 – Tervigon, Massive crushing claws
Change the AP characteristic to read ‘-3’.

Page 98 – Deathleaper, It’s After Me!
Change the last sentence of this ability to read:
‘At the end of any or your Movement phases Deathleaper 
can spring from its hiding place – you can set it up 
anywhere that is within 6" of the enemy Character you 
chose, but more than 1" away from any enemy models 
(if the enemy Character is not on the battlefield 
when Deathleaper is revealed, set it up anywhere on 
the battlefield that is more than 9" from any enemy 
models instead).’

Page 104 – Biovores, Spore Mine Launcher
Insert the following at the end of the rules text:
‘This weapon can target units that are not visible to the 
firer, but it cannot be used to fire Overwatch.’

Page 109 – Sporocyst
Change the unit description to read:
‘A Sporocyst is a single model armed with a spore node 
and five deathspitters.’

Insert the following at the end of the rules text for the 
Spore Node rule:
‘This weapon cannot be used to fire Overwatch.’

Page 112 – Cult Ambush
Add the following sentence to the end of the 
second paragraph:
‘If it is not possible to set up a unit as described on 
the result rolled, that unit is not set up this turn 
(but you can roll for it again at the end of your next 
Movement phase).’

Page 112 – A Deadly Trap
Change the second sentence of this Cult Ambush result 
to read: 
‘It can either move D6" even though it has just arrived 
as reinforcements, or shoot with all of its ranged 
weapons as if it were the Shooting phase (doing so does 
not prevent it from shooting in the Shooting phase or 
charging in the Charge phase of this turn).’

Page 112 – Brood Brothers
Change this rule to read:
‘The influence of a Genestealer Cult permeates all 
aspects of a society, including any Astra Militarum 
regiments stationed on their world. To represent the 
elements of such forces that have been subverted by 
a cult, you can include Astra Militarum units and 
Genestealer Cults units in the same matched play 
army, even though these units don’t have any Faction 
keywords in common. However, you can only include 
one Astra Militarum Detachment (one in which every 
unit has the Astra Militarum keyword) in a Battle-
forged army for each Genestealer Cult Detachment 
(one in which every unit has the Genestealer Cults 
keyword) in that army and every unit in the Astra 
Militarum Detachment that has the <Regiment> 
keyword must replace it in every instance on its 
datasheet with Brood Brothers (you cannot include 
any Astra Militarum named characters in such 
Detachments). In such cases, simply ignore the Astra 
Militarum units when choosing your army’s Faction.’

Page 114 – Magus, Familiars
Change the second sentence to read:
‘If they do so, the Magus can immediately attempt to 
manifest an additional psychic power.’

Page 115 – Primus
Delete the Familiar profile from the Primus datasheet.

Pages 116 and 144 – Heavy rock cutter
Add the following to the Abilities text:
‘When attacking with this weapon, you must subtract 1 
from the hit roll.’

Page 122 – Cult Armoured Sentinel
Change the Toughness characteristic to read ‘6’
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Page 123 – Cult Leman Russ, Grinding Advance
Change this ability to read:
‘Grinding Advance: If this model remains stationary or 
moves under half speed in its Movement phase (i.e. it 
moves a distance in inches less than half of its current 
Move characteristic) it can shoot its turret weapon twice 
in the following Shooting phase (the turret weapon must 
target the same unit both times). Furthermore, hit rolls 
for this model’s turret weapon do not suffer the penalty 
for moving and shooting a Heavy weapon. The following 
weapons are turret weapons: battle cannon, eradicator 
nova cannon, exterminator autocannon and vanquisher 
battle cannon.’

Pages 123 and 144 – Vanquisher battle cannon
Change the Strength to read ‘8’.

Page 130 – Units table
Change the models per unit value for Runtherd to 
read ‘1’.

Change the models per unit value for Nobz to 
read ‘5-10’.

Change the models per unit value for Nobz on Warbikes 
to read ‘3-9’.

Change the models per unit value for Deffkoptas to 
read ‘1-5’.

Page 134 – Units table
Add the following row:
‘Tactical Drones  |  4-12  |  See right’

Page 137 – Support Systems
Change the Drone controller rule to read:
‘Friendly <Sept> Drone units within 6" of any models 
equipped with a drone controller add one to any 
hit rolls.’

Change the Velocity tracker rule to read:
‘Add 1 to hit rolls for this model when it shoots at a unit 
that can Fly.’

Page 138 – Units table
Change the models per unit value for Hive Guard to 
read ‘3-6’.

Change the models per unit value for Tyrant Guard to 
read ‘3-6’.

Page 138 – Ranged Weapons table
Change the line that reads ‘Spinefists (Ravener)’ 
to read ‘Spinefists (Ravener, Tyranid Warriors and 
Tyranid Shrikes)’.

Add the following row:
‘Spore node  |  0’

Page 142 – Genestealer Cults Points Values
Change the points per model value for Purestrain 
Genestealers to read ‘15’.

Change the points per weapon value for Purestrain 
talons to read ‘0’.

Add an ‘Other Wargear’ table for the following:
‘Cult icon  |  20’

FAQs
ORKS
Q: Is the Kustom Force Field ability an aura ability?
A: Yes.

Q: The Ork Battlewagon’s Mobile Fortress ability says the 
Battlewagon ‘ignores the penalty for moving and firing Heavy 
weapons’. Its Open-topped ability says that ‘restrictions and 
modifiers that apply to this model also apply to its passengers’. 
Does that mean that a unit embarked also ignores the penalty 
for firing Heavy weapons if the Battlewagon has moved?
A: No.

Q: Do Spanners have a separate points cost in units of Lootas 
and Burna Boyz?
A: No. They cost the same ‘points per model’ as the unit 
they are included in.

Q: What happens when a unit of Flash Gitz’ Gun-crazy 
Showoffs ability triggers, but the nearest enemy unit is not 
a viable target (e.g. it is not visible to the Flash Gitz, or it is 
within 1" of a unit from your army)?
A: If the nearest enemy unit is not a viable target then 
this ability has no effect this time.

Q: If I use a Stompa’s Psycho-Dakka-Blasta! Ability to shoot its 
supa-gatler several times, do I need to declare the targets of the 
attacks before making any attacks, or do I resolve the attacks 
one at a time?
A: Declare targets and resolve the attacks one at a time. 
Roll to see if the ammo has been expended before 
declaring the targets for second and subsequent attacks.

Q: How many points does a Boss Nob in a unit of Boyz cost?
A: 6.

Q: Can a Big Mek use his Big Mekaniak ability to repair a 
vehicle he is embarked inside? Can he repair another vehicle 
within 3" of the vehicle he is embarked inside?
A: No to both questions; he cannot repair vehicles while 
embarked inside a transport.
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Q: What happens when a unit of Stormboyz declares a charge 
and it is within range of an Ork Warboss’ Waaagh! ability 
at the start of the Charge phase (assuming the Stormboyz 
Advanced that turn) – do I still need to roll D6 to see if my 
Stormboyz unit suffers mortal wounds as described in their Full 
Throttle ability?
A: No. In this circumstance you can just use the Ork 
Warboss’ ability to Charge (even though the unit 
Advanced) and you do not need to use the Full Throttle 
ability to do so (and so you avoid the risks involved).

T’AU EMPIRE
Q: If a T’au unit – e.g. XV8 Crisis Battlesuits or a Commander 
– uses the Manta Strike ability to set up in a Manta hold 
during deployment, does that also apply to any Drones that are 
accompanying that unit?
A: Yes. When the unit enters the fray, it and all its 
Drones are set up together as per the Mantra Strike 
ability. Once set up, they then become separate units.

Q: Can a unit of Pathfinders benefit from their own 
markerlights (e.g. if half the unit shoots their markerlights, and 
the other half shoot the same target with other weapons)?
A: Yes. Declare which models in the unit will fire 
markerlights at the same time you declare targets for 
the unit to shoot at, then resolve the models firing 
markerlights first, one at a time.

Q: Can models with an early warning override Support System 
use it to shoot at units that use psychic powers such as Gate of 
Infinity or Da Jump to set up within 12"?
A: Yes.

TYRANIDS
Q: Monstrous scything talons say that if the bearer has more 
than one pair it can make one additional attack. How many 
extra attacks does a Trygon, which has three pairs of monstrous 
scything talons, make?
A: It makes a total of one additional attack.

Q: The Onslaught psychic power says that the affected unit 
can Advance and fire in the same turn. Does this mean it gets 
to Advance again and then fire, or that it can fire even if it has 
Advanced this turn?
A: The unit can fire even if it has Advanced this turn. It 
does not get to Advance again.

Q: If a Hive Tyrant with lash whips is slain, which line of the 
damage table do I use when making its attacks before removing 
the model as a casualty?
A: Use the bottom line of the damage table, as if it still 
had one wound remaining.

Q: Can the Swarmlord use its Hive Commander ability on 
units that have no ranged weapons (the ability says ‘instead 
of shooting’)?
A: Yes.

Q: A Tervigon can only replace Termagants in a unit that 
is equipped with fleshborers. If those models were equipped 
with adrenal glands and/or toxin sacs, can those models still 
be replaced?
A: Yes.

GENESTEALER CULTS
Q: If I include a Detachment of Astra Militarum in a 
Genestealer Cult army using the Brood Brothers rule, do the 
Astra Militarum units gain the Genestealer Cults 
keyword and the Cult Ambush ability?
A: No and no.

Q: Can I have a Battle-forged army that consists of one 
Detachment of Genestealer Cults, one Detachment of 
Astra Militarum (using the Brood Brothers rule) and one 
Detachment of Tyranids?
A: Yes.

Q: If, in a matched play game, I use the Return to the Shadows 
Stratagem to remove one of my Genestealer Cult units from the 
battlefield during the fourth battle round, are they considered to 
be destroyed because of the Tactical Reserves matched play rule?
A: No.


