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WARHAMMER 40,000

INDEX: CHAOS
Official Update Version 1.4

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

ERRATA
Page 14 – Cypher, Abilities
Add the following ability:
‘No-one’s Puppet: Cypher cannot use the Daemonic 
Ritual ability, even though he has the Chaos and 
Character keywords.’

Page 21 – Daemon Prince, Wargear Options
Change the first sentence of the third bullet point 
to read:
‘This model may have wings (Power Rating +1).’

Page 36 – Warp Talons, Lightning claw
Change the second sentence of the Abilities text to read:
‘If a model is armed with two lightning claws, each time 
it fights it can make 1 additional attack with them.’

Page 38 – Chaos Predator, Damage Table
Change the top value under ‘Remaining W’ to 
read ‘6-11+’.

Change the second value under ‘Remaining W’ to 
read ‘3-5’.

Page 45 – Servants of Khorne
Add the following to the end of this paragraph:
‘If a unit has the Tzeentch, Nurgle or Slaanesh 
keywords, it cannot be from the World Eaters Legion.’

Page 51 – Ahriman, Wargear Options
Change the first sentence to read:
‘•  Ahriman may ride a Disc of Tzeentch (Power 

Rating +2).’

Page 52 – Exalted Sorcerer, Wargear Options
Change the first sentence to read:
‘•  This model may ride a Disc of Tzeentch (Power 

Rating +2).’

Add the following bullet point:
‘•  This model may replace its force stave with a 

force sword.’

Page 57 – Death Guard Army List
Add the following to the list of units that can be from 
the Death Guard Legion:
‘Sorcerer on Palanquin of Nurgle (pg 24)’

Page 63 – Servants of Slaanesh
Add the following to the end of this paragraph:
‘If a unit has the Khorne, Tzeentch or Nurgle 
keywords, it cannot be from the Emperor’s 
Children Legion.’

Page 69 – Nurgle Discipline, Virulent Blessing
Change the last two sentences of this psychic power 
to read:
‘Until the start of your next Psychic phase, you can add 
1 to all wound rolls made by that unit in the Fight phase. 
Furthermore, until the start of your next Psychic phase, 
any wound rolls of 7+ made for that unit in the Fight 
phase inflict double damage.’

Pages 74 and 75 – Herald of Khorne, Herald of Khorne 
on Blood Throne and Herald of Khorne on Juggernaut, 
Abilities, Herald of Khorne
Rename this ability to ‘Locus of Khorne’.

Page 75 – Bloodletters
Change this unit’s Power Rating to read ‘4’. 

Change the second sentence of the description to read 
‘It can include up to 10 additional Bloodletters (Power 
Rating +4) or up to 20 additional Bloodletters (Power 
Rating +8).’

Page 80 – Kairos Fateweaver
Add ‘Ephemeral Form’ to Kairos Fateweaver’s abilities.

Pages 82 and 83 – Herald of Tzeentch, Herald of 
Tzeentch on Disc and Herald of Tzeentch on Burning 
Chariot, Abilities, Herald of Tzeentch
Rename this ability to ‘Locus of Tzeentch’.
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Page 84 – Horrors, Magic Made Manifest
Change this ability to read:
‘Magic Made Manifest: A unit of Horrors can attempt 
to manifest one psychic power in each friendly Psychic 
phase, and attempt to deny one psychic power in each 
enemy Psychic phase. However, when you do so, only 
roll a single D6 for the Psychic test or Deny the Witch 
test, and use the result to determine the outcome. Note 
that this means the Horrors can’t roll a double 1 or 
6 to suffer Perils of the Warp. In addition, if the unit 
manifests the Smite psychic power whilst it contains less 
than 10 Pink Horrors, it only inflicts 1 mortal wound 
rather than D3.’

Page 91 – Herald of Nurgle, Abilities, Herald of Nurgle
Rename this ability to ‘Locus of Nurgle’.

Page 91 – Plaguebearers
Change this unit’s Power Rating to read ‘4’. 

Change the second sentence of the description to read 
‘It can include up to 10 additional Plaguebearers (Power 
Rating +4) or up to 20 additional Plaguebearers (Power 
Rating +8).’

Pages 97, 98 and 99 – Herald of Slaanesh, Herald 
of Slaanesh on Steed, Herald of Slaanesh on Seeker 
Chariot and Herald of Slaanesh on Exalted Seeker 
Chariot, Abilities, Herald of Slaanesh
Rename this ability to ‘Locus of Slaanesh’

Page 98 – Herald of Slaanesh on Seeker Chariot, 
Wargear Options
Change the bullet point to read:
‘•  This model may take lashes of torment.’

Page 99 – Herald of Slaanesh on Exalted Seeker 
Chariot, Wargear Options
Change the bullet point to read:
‘•  This model may take lashes of torment.’

Page 99 – Daemonettes
Change this unit’s Power Rating to read ‘4’. 

Change the second sentence of the description to read 
‘It can include up to 10 additional Daemonettes (Power 
Rating +4) or up to 20 additional Daemonettes (Power 
Rating +8).’

Page 105 – Daemon Prince of Chaos, profile line
Change the Wounds characteristic to read ‘8’.

Page 109 – Renegade Knight, Twin Icarus autocannon
Change this weapon’s Type to read ‘Heavy 4’.

Pages 109 and 128 – Thermal cannon
Change this weapon’s Type to read ‘Heavy D6’ and 
Abilities to read ‘If the target is within half range of this 
weapon, roll two dice when inflicting damage with it and 
discard the lowest result.’

Page 121 – Chaos Bastion Points Values, Ranged 
Weapons, Heavy bolter
Change the points per weapon value to read ‘8’.

FAQs
Q: Can I use the All is Dust ability to add 1 to invulnerable 
saving throws?
A: Yes, but only against attacks that have a Damage 
characteristic of 1.

Q: Can I use the All is Dust ability to add 1 to my saving 
throws against attacks that have a Damage characteristic of D3, 
or D6, but only inflict 1 damage?
A: No. The Damage characteristic is not ‘1’. 
Furthermore, the roll to inflict damage would occur 
after the saving throw would be taken (i.e. you cannot 
retroactively pass a saving throw).

Q: Can a Noise Marine use his Music of the Apocalypse ability 
if it flees the battlefield?
A: No. This ability can only be used when the model 
is slain.

Q: Can a Noise Marine that is slain use his Music of the 
Apocalypse ability to shoot any viable target, or does it have to 
target the unit that killed him?
A: It can shoot at any viable target.

Q: If several Noise Marines are slain in the same attack, can 
they each use their Music of the Apocalypse ability to throw a 
grenade, or can only one of them do so?
A: Each of them can throw a grenade.

Q: If a Noise Marine is slain whilst its unit is within 1" of an 
enemy unit, can he use his Music of the Apocalypse ability to 
shoot the unit that is within 1"?
A: Yes, but only with a Pistol.

Q: If a Noise Marine is slain in the Fight phase, and he uses 
his Music of the Apocalypse ability to shoot an Imperium 
unit and subsequently rolls a 6+ to hit, does the Death to the 
False Emperor ability then grant him an extra attack with that 
weapon, even though it’s a ranged weapon?
A: Yes. In this situation, make an extra hit roll against 
the target on a hit roll of 6+.

Q: What happens when a unit of Poxwalkers kills a Necron 
Warrior in the Fight phase? Do I still add a Poxwalker even 
though that Necron could reanimate?
A: A Poxwalker is added to the Poxwalkers unit as 
normal. At the start of the Necron player’s next turn, 
they roll to reanimate that Necron Warrior as normal 
too (essentially both players could end up adding a 
model to their unit).
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Q: If Skarbrand is within 8" of model that can Fly and has a 
minimum speed (such as a some Flyers), and that unit starts its 
Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit, what happens? Is 
that unit destroyed because it cannot Fall Back and so cannot 
move its minimum speed?
A: Correct, the unit is destroyed.

Note, however, that some Flyers have an ability that, 
when used, means they no longer have a minimum 
speed that turn (e.g. the Stormraven Gunship’s Hover Jet 
ability). If such a unit ends up in the situation described 
in the question, we recommend using their ability to 
avoid crashing into the ground!

Q: If I use Xirat’p’s Sorcerous Barrage to automatically manifest 
a psychic power in a matched play game, can I still attempt to 
manifest the same power with a different psyker that turn?
A: No, unless that power was Smite.

Q: If a Burning Chariot takes its option to be accompanied 
by three Blue Horrors, does this mean I add three Blue Horror 
models from the Horrors datasheet and form a mixed unit?
A: No. This option is referring to the optional Blue 
Horror crew that come with the Burning Chariot kit and 
are placed on top of the chariot alongside the Exalted 
Flamer. If you have them, you simply get the benefits 
listed in the Burning Chariot’s Irritating Chant ability.

Q: When I manifest the Warptime psychic power, can I select a 
unit that arrived on the battlefield as reinforcements this turn?
A: No.

Q: If I manifest the Warptime psychic power to move a unit 
in the Psychic phase, does that unit still suffer the -1 penalty 
for moving and firing Heavy weapons in the subsequent 
Shooting phase?
A: Yes.

Q: Can a Heretic Astartes Character attempt to 
summon a unit of Daemons using a Daemonic Ritual, or can 
only Daemon Characters attempt to do so?
A: Any Chaos Character can attempt to do so. This 
includes Heretic Astartes Characters.

Q: There is no datasheet for a Herald of Nurgle on a Palanquin 
of Nurgle – which datasheet should I use for this model?
A: Use the Epidemius datasheet from Index: Chaos.

Q: There is no datasheet for a Warsmith – which datasheet 
should I use for this model?
A: Use the Chaos Lord datasheet from Index: Chaos. 
The model should be armed with a power fist (note 
that whilst the model is technically equipped with a 
servo-arm, we feel that all of the Warsmith’s attacks can 
reasonably be represented by making its attacks with its 
power fist).


