WARHAMMER 40,000

CODEX: CHAOS SPACE MARINES

Official Update Version 1.3

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect,
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect
amendments to the rules and present our responses to
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated
regularly, each has a version number; when changes
are made, the version number will be updated, and any
changes from the previous version will be highlighted
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter,

e.g. l.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other
minor correction.

ERRATA

Page 116 — <Mark of Chaos>

Add the following to the last paragraph:

‘If a unit has the TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH
keywords, it cannot be from the World Eaters Legion,
and if a unit has the KHORNE, TZEENTCH or NURGLE
keywords, it cannot be from the Emperor’s Children
Legion. In addition, PSYKERS cannot be from the World
Eaters Legion.’

Page 117 - Champion Equipment

Change the second heading to read:

‘One of the champion’s weapons can be chosen from the
following list:’

Page 117 — Daemonic Ritual

Change the third sentence of the fourth paragraph

to read:

‘This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and
can be placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly
within 12" of the character and more than 9" from any
enemy model.’

Page 121 — Cypher, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘No-one’s Puppet: Cypher cannot use the Daemonic
Ritual ability, even though he has the CHA0s and
CHARACTER keywords.’

Page 129 — Bloodletters
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 130 — Horrors
Replace this datasheet with the one at the end of
this document.

Page 131 - Plaguebearers
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 131 — Daemonettes
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the Faction keywords line.
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the keywords line.

Page 132 — Khorne Berzerkers, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘Berzerker Horde: The Battlefield Role of WORLD
EATERS Khorne Berzerkers is Troops instead of Elites.’

Page 135 — Noise Marines, Abilities

Add the following ability:

‘Masters of the Kakophoni: The Battlefield Role of
EMPEROR’S CHILDREN Noise Marines is Troops instead
of Elites.’

Page 136 — Chosen, Wargear Options
Change this unit’s wargear options to read:
‘e Any Chosen may take one item from the Melee
Weapons list.
¢ Up to four Chosen may choose one of the
following options:
® Replace his bolt pistol with a plasma pistol.
® Replace his boltgun with one item from the Combi-
weapons or Special Weapons lists.
® Replace his boltgun and bolt pistol with a
lightning claw.
¢ An additional Chosen may replace his boltgun
with one item from the Special Weapons or Heavy
Weapons lists.
¢ The Chosen Champion may either take one item from
the Melee Weapons list, or replace his boltgun and
bolt pistol with items from the Champion Equipment list.
® One model may take a Chaos Icon (pg 153).

Page 138 — Helbrute, Wargear Options

Change the third bullet point to read:

‘e This model may replace each Helbrute fist with a
Helbrute hammer or power scourge.’

Page 142 — Obliterators
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the keywords line.
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Page 146 — Chaos Predator, Damage table
Change the top value under ‘Remaining W’ to
read ‘6-11+.

Change the second value under ‘Remaining W’ to
read ‘3-5’.

Page 149 — Khorne Lord of Skulls
Remove ‘DAEMON’ from the Faction keywords line.
Add ‘DAEMON’ to the keywords line.

Page 157 — Abilities, Legion Traits

Change the first sentence of rules text to read:

‘If your army is Battle-forged, all Daemon Prince,
INFANTRY, BIKERS and HELBRUTE units in Chaos Space
Marine Detachments gain a Legion Trait, so long as every
unit in that Detachment is from the same Legion.’

Page 158 — Gifts of Chaos
Add the following sentence:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 158 — Chaos Boon

Change the first sentence of rules text to read:

‘You can use this Stratagem at the end of a Fight phase
in which one of your HERETIC ASTARTES CHARACTERS
(excluding DAEMON CHARACTERS) slays an enemy
CHARACTER, VEHICLE or MONSTER.’

Page 159 — Tide of Traitors
Add the following sentence:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.’

Page 159 — Killshot

Change the second sentence of rules text to read:
‘Add 1 to the wound rolls and damage for all of the
Predators’ attacks that target MONSTERS or VEHICLES
this phase.’

Page 161 - Gift of Chaos

Change the second sentence of rules text to read:

‘If manifested, select an enemy unit that is within 6" of
the psyker and visible to him and roll a D6.

Page 161 — Mark of Tzeentch: Weaver of Fates
Change the third sentence of rules text to read:
‘Until the start of your next Psychic phase, the
invulnerable save of that unit is improved by 1 (to a
maximum of 3+).

FAQs

Q: If I have a DAEMON model that can only be included once

in my army — for example, the Changeling — and that model is
slain during the game, can I use Daemonic Ritual to attempt to
summon it and add it to my army again?

A: Yes. Note that if you're playing a matched play game
you’ll need the appropriate reinforcement points to do so.

Q: Does disembarking effectively prevent a CHAOS CHARACTER
from summoning a DAEMON unit that turn using the Daemonic
Ritual ability?

A:Yes. Models that disembark count as having moved for
all rules purposes, including Daemonic Ritual.

Q: If I am playing a mission such as The Relic, which has an
objective marker that a unit can carry, and Cypher is carrying
that objective marker when he is slain, what happens?

A: The objective marker is dropped.

Q: Can a Noise Marine use his Music of the Apocalypse ability if
he flees the battlefield?

A: No. This ability can only be used when the model

is slain.

Q: Can a Noise Marine that is slain use his Music of the
Apocalypse ability to shoot any viable target, or does it have to
target the unit that killed him?

A: It can shoot at any viable target.

Q: If a Noise Marine is slain whilst its unit is within 1" of an
enemy unit, can he use his Music of the Apocalypse ability to
shoot the unit that is within 1"?

A: Yes, but only with a Pistol.

Q: If several Noise Marines are slain in the same attack, can they
each use their Music of the Apocalypse ability to throw a grenade,
or can only one of them do so?

A: Each of them can throw a grenade.

Q: If a Noise Marine is slain in the Fight phase, and he uses

his Music of the Apocalypse ability to shoot an IMPERIUM unit
and subsequently rolls a hit roll of 6+, does the Death to the False
Emperor ability then grant him an extra attack with that weapon,
even though it’s a ranged weapon ?

A: Yes. In this situation, make an extra hit roll against the
target on a hit roll of 6+.

Q: Maulerfiends have a wargear option to ‘replace both magma
cutters with lasher tendrils’. Does this mean I replace both magma
cutlers for a single ‘lasher tendrils’ weapon, or do I get two Tasher
tendrils’ weapons?

A: You replace both magma cutters with a single ‘lasher
tendrils’ weapon.

Q: If I take a unit of DAEMONS in a Chaos Space Marines
Detachment, do I lose my Legion Trait?

A: Yes. However, if you summon a unit of DAEMONS and
add them to your army, doing so does not affect your
Legion Trait.

Q: If I give a unit in my army an Icon of Vengeance, then at the
start of my first turn use the Beseech the Chaos Gods Stratagem
to make that unit dedicated to Khorne, Tzeentch, Nurgle or
Slaanesh, does the unit swap its Icon of Vengeance for the Chaos
Icon of their god, or does it keep the Icon of Vengeance?

A: It keeps the Icon of Vengeance.
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Q: If I'voll a 12 on the Chaos Boon table, when adding a
Daemon Prince to my army, which Daemon Prince datasheet
should I use — the Daemon Prince or the Daemon Prince of
Chaos? In addition, what wargear options can it take?

A: Use the Daemon Prince datasheet from Codex: Chaos
Space Marines. The model can be equipped with any of
its normal wargear options, providing you have the right
model and it is built appropriately.

Q: Are the bonus attacks from Death to the False Emperor and the
Excess of Violence Stratagem cumulative? For example, if a model
with an Attacks characteristic of 1 rolled a hit roll of 6+ when
attacking an IMPERIUM unit (thereby giving it an extra atlack)
and then both of those attacks killed enemy models, would I then
make two extra attacks for that model? If yes, what happens if I
roll hit volls of 6+ for these attacks?

A: Yes, they are cumulative. In the example given, you
would make two extra attacks but any further hit rolls of
6+ (and any subsequent models slain) would not generate
any further attacks.

Q: If an enemy CHARACTER is slain by the Gift of Chaos
psychic power, do I need to have the appropriate reinforcement
points set aside in order to set up the Chaos Spawn?

A: Yes, if you are playing a matched play game.

Q: If I manifest the Gift of Chaos psychic power, and target a
unit whose models have different Toughness characteristics, which
one should I use?

A: Use the highest Toughness characteristic in the

target unit.
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HORRORS

Pink Horror 6" 4+ 4+ 3 3 1 1 7 6+
Blue Horror 6" 5+ - 2 3 1 1 7 6+
Pair of Brimstone 6" 54 ) 1 3 1 5 7 6+
Horrors

This unit contains 10 Pink, Blue or pairs of Brimstone Horrors, in any combination. It can include up to 10 additional Horrors (Power Rating
+4) or up to 20 additional Horrors (Power Rating +8). Pink Horrors attack with coruscating flames, while Blue Horrors and Brimstone Horrors
simply scrabble at anyone who comes too close.

Coruscating flames 18" Assault 2 User 0 1 -
WARGEAR OPTIONS « For every ten models in the unit, one Pink Horror may take an Instrument of Chaos.
« For every ten models in the unit, one Pink Horror may take a Daemonic Icon.
ABILITIES Daemonic Ritual (pg 117) Iridescent Horror: When you set up this unit for the
first time, you may select a single Pink Horror in the
Daemonic Icon: If you roll a 1 when taking a Morale unit — that model has an Attacks characteristic of 2,
test for a unit with any Daemonic Icons, reality blinks instead of 1.

and the daemonic horde is bolstered. No models flee

and D6 slain Pink Horrors are instead added to the unit. Magic Made Manifest: A unit of Horrors can attempt
to manifest one psychic power in each friendly Psychic

Split: Each time a Pink Horror is slain, you can add up ~ phase, and attempt to deny one psychic power in each

to two Blue Horrors to its unit before you remove the enemy Psychic phase. However, when you do so, only
slain model. Each time a Blue Horror is slain, you can roll a single D6 for the Psychic test or Deny the Witch
add one pair of Brimstone Horrors to its unit before test, and use the result to determine the outcome. Note
you remove the slain model. The replacement models that this means the Horrors cannot roll a double 1 or
cannot be placed within 1" of an enemy model. Note 6 to suffer Perils of the Warp. In addition, if the unit
that Horrors that flee do not generate any extra models  manifests the Smite psychic power whilst it contains less
for their unit. than 10 Pink Horror models, it only inflicts 1 mortal

wound rather than D3.
Matched Play: In matched play you must pay

reinforcement points for each and every Blue and Ephemeral Daemons: Pink Horrors have an
Brimstone Horror model that you add to a unit of invulnerable save of 4+. Blue Horrors have an
Horrors, but the additional models can take the unit invulnerable save of 5+. Pairs of Brimstone Horrors have
above its starting strength. an invulnerable save of 6+.
Instrument of Chaos: A unit that includes any Magical Horde: Change the Type of this unit’s
Instruments of Chaos adds 1 to their Advance and coruscating flames to Assault 3 whilst the unit contains
charge rolls. 20 or more Pink Horrors.

PSYKER This unit can attempt to manifest one psychic power in each friendly Psychic phase, and attempt to deny one

psychic power in each enemy Psychic phase. It knows the Smite power. When manifesting or denying a psychic
power, first select a model in the unit — measure range, visibility etc. from this model. If a Brimstone Horror is
selected, it is slain after the psychic power has been attempted and, if successful, resolved.

FAGTION KEYWORDS CHAOS, TZEENTCH, DAEMON
\I(EYWIIIIIIS INFANTRY, PSYKER, HORRORS e
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