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WARHAMMER 40,000 

CODEX: ASTRA MILITARUM
Official Update Version 1.2

Although we strive to ensure that our rules are perfect, 
sometimes mistakes do creep in, or the intent of a rule 
isn’t as clear as it might be. These documents collect 
amendments to the rules and present our responses to 
players’ frequently asked questions. As they’re updated 
regularly, each has a version number; when changes 
are made, the version number will be updated, and any 
changes from the previous version will be highlighted 
in magenta. Where a version number has a letter, 
e.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in 
that language, to clarify a translation issue or other 
minor correction.

ERRATA
Page 86 – Grinding Advance
Change the second sentence to read:
‘If this model remains stationary or moves under half 
speed in its Movement phase (i.e. it moves a distance in 
inches less than half of its current Move characteristic) 
it can shoot its turret weapon twice in the following 
Shooting phase (the turret weapon must target the same 
unit both times).’

Pages 90 and 101 – Commissar Yarrick, Lord Commissar 
and Commissar, Summary Execution
Change to read:
‘Summary Execution: The first time an Astra 
Militarum unit fails a Morale test during the Morale 
phase whilst it is within 6" of any friendly Commissars, 
you can execute a model. If you do, one model of your 
choice in that unit is slain and the Morale test is re-
rolled (do not include this slain model when re-rolling 
the Morale test).’

Page 93 – Infantry Squad, Unit Composition 
and Wargear
Add the following bullet point:
‘•  A Heavy Weapons Team is armed with a lasgun and 

frag grenades.’

Page 94 – Militarum Tempestus Scions, 
Wargear Options
Change the first bullet point to read:
‘One Tempestus Scion may either replace its hot-shot 
lasgun with a hot-shot laspistol and a vox-caster, or take 
a hot-shot laspistol and a vox-caster in addition to their 
hot-shot lasgun.’

Page 95 – Master of Ordnance, Master of Ballistics
Change to read:
‘Master of Ballistics: You can re-roll any hit rolls of 1 
made for friendly <Regiment> Basilisks, Wyverns, 
Manticores or Deathstrikes when they target enemy 
units over 36" away in the Shooting phase, if they are 
within 6" of this model.’

Page 97 – Veterans, Unit Composition and Wargear
Add the following bullet point:
‘•  A Veteran Heavy Weapons Team is armed with a 

lasgun and frag grenades.’

Page 98 – Militarum Tempestus Command Squad, 
Wargear Options
Change the first and second bullet points to read:
‘•  One model may either replace its hot-shot lasgun 

with a hot-shot laspistol and a vox-caster, or take a 
hot-shot laspistol and a vox-caster in addition to their 
hot-shot lasgun.

•  One other model may either replace its hot-shot lasgun 
with a hot-shot laspistol and a medi-pack, or take a 
hot-shot laspistol and a medi-pack in addition to their 
hot-shot lasgun.’

Page 102 – Ogryn Bodyguard, Bodyguard
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Roll a D6 each time a friendly Astra Militarum 
Infantry Character (excluding Ogryns) loses a 
wound whilst they are within 3" of any models with this 
ability; on a 3+ the Astra Militarum character does not 
lose a wound but one model with this ability suffers a 
mortal wound.’

Page 102 – Ogryn Bodyguard, Slabshield
Change this ability to read: 
‘Add 2 to armour saving throws for a model equipped 
with a slabshield (invulnerable saving throws are 
not affected).’

Page 103 – Bullgryns, Slabshield
Change this ability to read: 
‘Add 2 to armour saving throws for a model equipped 
with a slabshield (invulnerable saving throws are 
not affected).’
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Page 104 – Nork Deddog, Loyal to the End
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Roll a D6 each time a friendly Astra Militarum 
Infantry Character (excluding Ogryns) loses a 
wound whilst they are within 3" of Nork Deddog; on a 2+ 
the Astra Militarum character does not lose a wound but 
Nork Deddog suffers a mortal wound.’

Page 117 – Valkyries, Grav-chute Insertion
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Models may disembark from this vehicle at any point 
during its move, but if the Valkyrie moves 20" or more, 
you must roll a D6 for each model disembarking.’

Pages 118-125 – Baneblade, Banehammer, Banesword, 
Doomhammer, Hellhammer, Shadowsword, Stormlord 
and Stormsword, Steel Behemoth
Change the third sentence to read:
‘It can, except when firing Overwatch, also still fire 
its weapons if enemy units are within 1" of it (but only 
its twin heavy bolter or twin heavy flamer can target 
units that are within 1" of it – its other guns must target 
other units).’

Page 133 – Mordian: Parade Ground Doctrine
Add the following sentence: 
‘These modifiers to hit rolls are an exception to the 
normal rules which do not allow modifiers when making 
Overwatch shots – in such cases a result of 7 is also a 
successful hit.’

Page 134 – Crush Them!
Change the first sentence to read:
‘Use this Stratagem at the start of your Charge phase.’

Page 134 – Aerial Spotter
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Select a Basilisk or Wyvern model from your army.’

Page 134 – Jury Rigging 
Add the following sentence to this Stratagem:
‘You can only use this Stratagem once per turn.’

Page 135 – Take Cover!
Change the rules text of this Stratagem to read:
‘Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Shooting 
phase when your opponent selects one of your Astra 
Militarum Infantry units as a target. You can add 1 
to armour saving throws you make for this unit until the 
end of the phase.’

Page 136 – Overlapping Fields of Fire
Change the rules text to read:
‘Use this Stratagem after a Cadian unit from your 
army has attacked an enemy unit in the Shooting phase 
and the attack resulted in the enemy unit losing one 
or more wounds. Add 1 to hit rolls for attacks made by 
other Cadian units from your army that target the same 
enemy unit this phase.’

Page 136 – Send in the Next Wave!
Add the following sentence:
‘This unit costs reinforcement points in a matched 
play game.’

Page 136 – Ambush
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Choose up to three Tallarn units to be set up in 
ambush instead of placing them on the battlefield (only 
one of these units can have the Vehicle keyword).’

Add the following sentence:
‘The units are considered to have moved their 
maximum distance.’

Page 138 – The Dagger of Tu’Sakh
Add the following sentence at the start of the rules text:
‘Infantry Officer model only.’

Page 138 – Kurov’s Aquila
Change the second sentence of rules text to read:
‘Whilst the bearer is on the battlefield, roll a D6 each 
time your opponent uses a Stratagem.’

Page 139 – Relic of Lost Cadia
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Once per battle, the bearer can unveil this relic at the 
start of any turn.’

Page 140 – Grand Strategist
Change the second and third sentences of rules text 
to read:
‘In addition, if your army is Battle-forged and this 
Warlord is on the battlefield, roll a D6 for each 
Command Point you spend to use a Stratagem; on a 5+ 
that Command Point is immediately refunded.’

Page 140 – Draconian Disciplinarian
Add the following sentence:
‘If a Commissar has this Warlord Trait, then their 
Summary Execution ability takes precedence, but if the 
re-rolled Morale test is also failed then D3 additional 
models are slain and the test is then considered to 
have passed.’

Page 140 – Master of Command
Add the following sentence:
‘If your Warlord is a Commissar, it can issue an order 
to any <Regiment> Infantry unit (irrespective of what 
regiment that unit is from – e.g. Militarum Tempestus, 
Cadian, etc.)’

Page 142 – Points Values, Units
Change the footnote to read:
‘*  If models in these units form Heavy Weapons Team, there is 

no change in its points cost (e.g. an Infantry squad costs 40 
points whether or not it contains a Heavy Weapons Team).’
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Page 142 – Points Values, Other Wargear
Add the following entry:

Wargear Points per item
Storm shield 0

FAQs
Q: How many dice does the Brutal Strength Regimental 
Doctrine allow me to re-roll when a Vehicle in my army fires 
a ranged weapon that makes a random number of attacks? Is it 
one dice per vehicle, or one dice per weapon?
A: You can re-roll one dice per weapon.

Q: When do I pay the Command Point cost for the Vortex 
Missile Stratagem?
A: After you’ve had a result of 8 or more for the Hour is 
Nigh ability, allowing you to fire the Deathstrike missile, 
but before resolving the shot.

Q: If I have, for example, a Tallarn unit of Leman Russ 
Battle Tanks with three tanks, can I use the Ambush Stratagem 
once to place all three models in ambush?
A: Yes. The same is true for any other Tallarn vehicle 
squadron (Basilisks, Hellhounds, etc.).

Q: If I issue an order to a unit with an Officer who has the 
Laurels of Command, and I roll a 4+ to issue another order 
to the same unit, do I resolve the first order before issuing 
the second? 
A: Yes.

Q: Can I use The Laurels of Command to issue the same order 
twice to the same unit?
A: No, the second order issued must be a different order.

Q: How do The Laurels of Command and Superior Tactical 
Training interact? For example, my Warlord is a Cadian 
Company Commander and I give him The Laurels of 
Command and the Superior Tactical Training Warlord Trait. 
How many orders is he potentially allowed to issue each turn, 
and how many units can those orders affect?
A: If he issues an order to a Cadian Infantry unit 
within 6" (unit A) using his Voice of Command ability, 
first roll a dice for Superior Tactical Training; on a 4+, 
you can pick another Cadian Infantry unit (unit B) 
within 6" for that order to affect. Then roll a dice for 
The Laurels of Command; on a 4+ he can issue a second 
order to the first unit (unit A). You can then roll again for 
Superior Tactical Training; on a 4+, you can pick another 
Cadian Infantry unit within 6" for the second order to 
affect (this does not have to be unit B, but can be).

Note that when you use Superior Tactical Training, 
an order is not issued – rather, an already issued order 
affects an additional unit. So you cannot use The 
Laurels of Command to generate further orders as 
a result of using Superior Tactical Training, but you 
can use Superior Tactical Training to make secondary 
orders caused by The Laurels of Command affect an 
additional unit.

BROOD BROTHERS
Q: Can an Astra Militarum Detachment that 
is included in an army alongside a Genestealer 
Cults Detachment using the Brood Brothers rule gain 
a Regimental Doctrine, and can the units in such a 
Detachment use any of the regiment-specific Stratagems, 
Warlord Traits, Orders, Relics, etc.?
A: No, Brood Brothers Detachments cannot use any 
regiment-specific rules.

Note that when included in an army alongside 
a Genestealer Cults Detachment, all Astra 
Militarum units should replace their <Regiment> 
keyword with Brood Brothers in every instance 
on their datasheets. Full rules for using Brood 
Brothers detachments will be described in Codex: 
Genestealer Cults.

Q: Can an Astra Militarum Detachment that is 
included in an army alongside a Genestealer Cults 
Detachment using the Brood Brothers rule include any 
Astra Militarum named characters?
A: No.


