dldR TREk DECIPHER RP3 - ERRdTA

Errata & Typos

Page 183, chart 10.4 phaser settings 9 through 16 have an
incorrect notation of ‘Kill*’ referring to the Appendix on “Stun.”
Remove the asterisk.

Page 251, under the heading “Stun, Kill, and Disintegration Effects”
there is mention of making reaction tests for each of these but only
rules and TNs given for shrugging off Stun results. The text is in
error; there are no reaction tests to avoid damage once you’ve been
hit. Use the Dodge action to avoid being disintegrated!

Page 102, Table 6.5, TN modifiers for academic tests under
memory loss. The modifiers should be positive values (a penalty),
raising the TN of any academic tests.

Page 96, under the Emergency Medic and Ship's Doctor Professional
Development packages, late layout changes accidentally removed
portions of the descriptive text. The packages, however, are
complete. (This text may be made available at a later date for those
interested.)

Page 146, descriptive text under Assigning Reactions. As per the
Psionic edge, Lovek’s starting Psi should be 4, not 2. (Typo)

Page 71, Table 3.10, Operations Officer Skills. The table
erroneously refers to the “engineer officer’s” professional skills. The
table is otherwise correct.

Page 24, Command Officer Archetype. “Command 1” should actually
be “Promotion 1.”

Page 153, Advancing Skills and Reactions. The descriptive text is
misleading in stating that you may only spend a certain number of
picks per advancement. The limitations are per advancement, not
pick. Thus, a character may increase a maximum of two
professional skills, one non-professional skill, two favored
reactions, or one non-favored reaction per advancement (provided



they have enough picks).

Page 91, Rogue: Scoundrel package. Drop the "Fast On Your Feet"
trait.

Page 181, Table 10.3, Ranged Weapons: Archaic Weapons. The
crossbow is listed twice. Remove the duplicate entry.

Page 66, Starship Officer: Capable professional ability. Last
sentence should read "When performing actions in excess of their
action allowance, starship officers suffer only a -3 to professional
skill tests, rather than the -5 test penalty that normally applies.”
(Note: This crops up in other places as well, such as the Staff
description on page 185. Anything that notes the multiple action
penalty is lowered from 10 to 5 should instead read that the penalty
is lowered from 5 to 3.)

Page 135, Innovative edge: Under effects, the following should be
added: "The Starship Duty ability may not be selected in this
manner."

Page 66, Command Officer, Prerequisites: Should read "Starship
Duty or..." The same applies to the prerequisites listed for all
Starship Officer elite professions.

Rules Clarifications (Q/A)

Q: When | Dodge (page 248) and roll less than my Defense, is the
TN to hit me lowered as well?

A: No. The TN to hit you is always the better of the two results: your
Defense or the Dodge result. You can not ‘zag’ into a punch, for
example.

Q: On page 249 a mention is made of multiple Dodge actions. How
does that work?

A: Every time you take a Dodge action and make a quickness
reaction test, the result (if higher) becomes the TN to hit you.
Always use the highest result if better than your Defense.

Q: Do skills under skill groups have specialties?



A: Yes, but you do not get them for free. You must purchase them
through advancements or have a specialty granted to you through a
package.

Q: On page 109 the sample skills under Armed Combat tell me to
choose a specialty. Do | have to take one?

A: Those are sample specialties that may be purchased. You do not
get a specialty for free.

Q: Why are there no sample specialties under the Unarmed Combat
skill group?

A: While the Narrator may allow characters to specialize in different
unarmed styles (skills), the exact type is up to the Narrator. It is
presumed that most, if not all, unarmed combat skills do not have
specialties.

Q: Can | spend a few of my picks during an advancement and hold
onto the rest for later?

A: No. All advancement picks must be spent prior to resuming play
(the next adventure).

Q: Can Flaws be ‘bought off?’

A: Yes, although the chart on page 153 does not implicitly show
this. The cost of lowering a flaw (Addiction 2 to Addiction 1 or
Addiction 1 to nothing) is the same as purchasing an Edge.

Q: How much damage does an unarmed combat strike do?
A: 1d3+Str, +2 for a complete success, +4 for an extraordinary
success (pg 250).

Q: On page 250, under Inflicting Damage, it says on an
extraordinary success to use maximum damage. Does this include
unarmed attacks?

A: No. This text refers to close (armed) combat attacks (i.e. with
weapons) only.

Q: What is the process of creating a character?
A: The entire character creation process is listed in order and
illustrated on pages 20 and 21.



Q: Does the Starship Duty professional ability waive both the
prerequisites for Starship Officer elite professions and the five
advancement picks required to take an elite profession?

A: The first time Starship Duty is taken it waives both the
prerequisites and the five advancement picks. Subsequent
selections waive either the prerequisites or the picks, but never
both.

Q: Can someone from a basic profession other than Starship Officer
use Innovative to get Starship Duty?

A: No. Starship Duty cannot be gained through the use of the
Innovative edge.

Q: Can a character ever select/purchase a second base profession?
A: No. A character only has one base profession. Characters may
purchase as many Elite Professions as they qualify for, as per the
rules.



