Russian Mountain Cavalry Division



On June 22, 1941, there were 4 Mountain Cavalry Divisions organized as follows:

17th Cavalry Division : 13, 45, 91, 128 Cav Rgts 18th Cavalry Division : 46, 97, 135 Cav Rgts 20th Cavalry Division : 2, 103, 124 Cav Rgts 21st Cavalry Division : 17, 67, 112 Cav Rgts

7 Mech Rgt (2 T-26, 2 BA-10) 33 Mech Rgt (1 BT-5, 2 BA-10) 27 Mech Rgt (1 BT-5, 2 BA-10) 23 Mech Rgt (1 BT-5, 2 BA-10)

4th Cavalry Corps : 18th, 20th and 21st Divisions, Interior near Moscow

The 17th Division was independent.

Three more of these little Cavalry Divisions were formed in the summer. All were destroyed by the end of the year except the 39th, which stayed in the Central Asia District.

By Greg Moore gregpanzerblitz.com October 2007