Hand of Mork – experimental rules;
Q. Where can I find the rules for the "Hand of Mork" Ork ship by  manowarplayer?


A1. It is basically a barge holdding a huge rock. There are very few spots to cause damage to it as the rock is pretty immune and takes up the majority of the template. The orcs try and get up within 2" or so, and release the "Hand of Mork" (ie...the claw on the front). If it hits, it has skewered the enemy ship and cannot be removed. The Orcs then knock out the plugs in the barge hull and the barge sinks – and most likely takes out the enemy ship with it, or at the very minimum, renders it useless.
 
Enemy players get no points for the loss of the Hand of Mork when it is sunk this way. In fact, it's battle honors count towards the ORC total in addition to the ship it has sunk. It is worth 50 points when sunk by an enemy, 150 when sunk by the Orc player with a successful kill.

This was based on an idea from Kevin Thurber after a particularly good game he was in at ConQuest several years ago. He called the ship the "Ker Ploop". But I gave it a little dignity! LOL!


Holger

A2. Yeah, that's basically it.

The template provides all the other information. I never officially fleshed out the rules for the "attack" but looking at my notes I can show you what I was thinking.

The Hand of Mork has a 2" range (based on the working model I have - your ship may vary). When attacking you make a to hit roll IGNORING any location misses except when rolling a 1 (which is always a miss). In other words, if you were attacking an Imperial Wargalley and rolled a 2, you would reroll until you got a 4,5 or 6 (or a 1). Then the enemy admiral makes a save for that area - if it fails, the Hand of Mork inflicts 2 damage (possibly causing a critical). A missed attack or a successful save means the Hand of Mork fell but no contact was made (see below on rules to re-winch the Hand back up).

If the enemy ship sinks normally (not from the Hand of Mork attack), the Hand of Mork does not go under as well , and the Orc player can attempt to re-winch the hand back up (only a roll of 6 succeeds and the attempt is made during the Hand of Mork's movement phase), No other actions are allowed on this turn (movement or boarding actions).

If the Hand of Mork attack hits, on subsequent turns the Orc player must fail his own BW save enough times to cause the Hand of Mork to sink. Each failed save causes 1 BW waterline hit on the Hand of Mork.

Once successfully engaged, there is NO WAY to remove the Hand of Mork from an enemy ship (even by the Orcs). Re-winching is only possible when there is not a ship attached to the Hand (either because the enemy ship sunk on it's own or because the Hand of Mork attack missed or a successful save was made).

Sinking the HoM awards the enemy -2 Battle Honors. If the Orc player sinks an enemy with the HoM, he is awarded the enemy ship's BH PLUS a positive 2 points for the HoM. (I'm thinking this should be made 3/-3 or even 4/-4).

Battle Honors are awarded this way ONLY when the HoM sinks itself and takes an enemy ship down with it.

Other notes: 

There is never any Wreckage Marker placed for either ship sinking this way, but place a debris marker where the HoM was and all HoM crew counters are placed on the debris where they may cling to the wreckage until either an enemy ship moves through the debris or fires into it (hits on anything but a 1 - nosave possible). 

Orc crew may be picked up by other orc ships that stop in contact with the debris marker.

That's all I got. Suggestions?

Scott

