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New Rules

As WARMACHINE continues to grow and evolve, regular model releases will introduce exciting new elements and options 
to the game, including new unit types and abilities. WARMACHINE: Escalation adds dozens of never before seen models, 
such as weapon teams, jack marshals, and unit attachments. This section details the new rules required to play with the 
models introduced in Escalation.

Unit Attachments

Unit attachments are made up of one or more models that may be added to a unit specified in the description of the unit 
attachment. Only one unit attachment may be added to any unit.  A model in the unit attachment with the Officer special 
ability becomes the new unit leader. The original unit leader remains part of the unit, but loses the Leader ability whilst the 
officer is in play. The original unit leader cannot issue orders without the Leader ability but may use all its other abilities.

For instance, if a Monolith Bearer unit attachment is added to a Holy Zealot unit, the Monolith Bearer becomes the unit 
leader. The Priest is no longer the unit leader and may not issue commands to the unit, but may still use Prayers of 
Menoth. If the Monolith Bearer is destroyed or removed from play, the Priest becomes the unit leader.

A unit attachment increases the victory point value of the unit it is added to by an amount detailed in the description of the 
unit attachment.

Jack Marshal

Warcasters are a rare combination of mage and warrior, and they are not common in the Iron Kingdoms. They are the 
elite leaders of battle groups. Supporting their armies are capable soldiers specially trained to command warjacks without 
the benefit of magical skills. These specialists, called jack marshals, can control a warjack using gestures and commands 
shouted out across the battlefield. While this is not as efficient as using focus, the jack marshal can guide a warjack to 
perform maneuvers it normally would not be able to do on its own. While they are not warcasters, jack marshals may 
begin a game controlling one or more warjacks. These warjacks are not part of any warcaster’s battle group.

The number of warjacks a jack marshal can control is listed in parenthesis beside the jack marshal special ability in the 
model’s description. For example, a Man-O-War Kovnik may begin the game controlling two warjacks: Jack Marshal (2) 
can be found in his description. Each jack marshal has a marshaling range equal to his CMD stat in inches. A controlled 
warjack within marshaling range of its controller may run, charge, or boost an attack or damage roll once per activation. A 
warjack gains these benefits even if its controlling jack marshal is stationary.

If the jack marshal is destroyed or removed from play, his warjacks become autonomous but do not become inert. 
Autonomous warjacks remain active but do not have a controller. An autonomous warjack acts normally, but may not be 
marshaled or allocated focus. However, it may receive focus from other sources. A warjack must have a controller at the 
start of the game and may not begin autonomous.

A jack marshal may reactivate one friendly inert warjack of the same faction per turn in the same manner as a warcaster. 
The reactivated warjack comes under the jack marshal’s control unless he already controls his limit of warjacks. If the jack 
marshal already controls his limit, the warjack becomes autonomous. Likewise, if the opposing player takes control of a 
jack marshal, for example, with the use of either the Convert or Dark Seduction spells, a warjack controlled by the marshal 
remains under the control of its original player and becomes autonomous. If control of the jack marshal is returned to his 
original player, the jack marshal resumes control of the warjack.

A warcaster or jack marshal that does not already control his limit of warjacks may take control of an autonomous friendly 
warjack of the same faction. To take control of the warjack, the warcaster or jack marshal must be in base-to-base contact 
with the jack and forfeit his action this turn, but may still cast spells and use special abilities. The warjack must forfeit its 
activation and cannot channel spells on the turn is becomes controlled. Beginning with the next turn, it may be marshaled 
or allocated focus.



Mercenary Warcasters, Jack Marshals, and Warjacks

Mercenary warjacks may only be included in a battlegroup controlled by a mercenary warcaster or assigned to a 
mercenary jack marshal. Warcasters belonging to a faction may not control mercenary warjacks. Mercenary warcasters 
and jack marshals can only control mercenary warjacks and cannot control warjacks belonging to a faction. Mercenary 
warcasters may only give orders to mercenary units and may rally only mercenary models.

Weapon Crews

Weapon Crews are small units that operate large or cumbersome weapons. Weapon Crews are made up of a Gunner and 
one or more Crewmen. Unlike other units, weapon crews do not have leaders. A weapon crew cannot run or charge. The 
Gunner gains +2” of movement per Crewman with which he begins activation in base-to-base contact. If the Gunner takes 
sufficient damage to be destroyed, a Crewman within 1” can take the destroyed Gunner’s place immediately, becoming a 
new Gunner. Remove the Crewman from the table instead of the Gunner. The damaged Gunner is destroyed. Any effects 
or spells on the damaged Gunner expire. Any effects or spells on the removed crewman are applied to the new Gunner.

Even though the Gunner is on a larger-sized base, it is treated as a small-based model. A Gunner only blocks line of sight 
to models with small bases. It does not block line of sight to a model with a medium-sized base or larger, neither does it 
screen such a model from a ranged or magic attack. Intervening models of any base size block line of sight to a Gunner 

and screen him.
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